Salazar’s World

It was Jess’ turn to pick the inspiration for Style Imitating Art, and she picked “Christina’s World” by Andrew Wyeth:

I actually put together a different outfit using solid pieces, which would have been a better fit, but in the end I went with this drop-waist polka dot dress instead. Maybe I was subconsciously influenced by Days of Heaven (the only Terrence Malick film I could sit through, not because it’s the shortest but also because it actually has a plot), which this painting always reminds me of. Although Days of Heaven is set closer to 1900’s than 1920’s. So I don’t know. Maybe I simply like the silhouette.

This week we’ve got a couple more bloggers joining the fun, so head over to Jess’ to see how they interpreted the painting!

Dress: thrifted, Cardigan: Forever21
Shoes: Madden Girl, Tights: Target, Necklace: self-made


I feel like I should start dancing the Charleston…

10 Comments on “Salazar’s World”

  1. Missy says:

    Love this interpretation! Honestly even if you did have a better fit in mind this is still fabulous!

  2. Jess says:

    I really, really like this outfit. Even if it weren’t inspired by the painting, it would look great. I like that it’s a little more abstract rather than a direct interpretation, and that dress…well, it’s adorable. I vote success!

  3. kzackuslheureux says:

    You’re adorable!

  4. Aquí says:

    you look gorgeous! The colors in this post are so wonderful and I love the shape of your dress! This Style imitating art concept is really cool! I’ve loved seeing your take on them!

  5. Loren says:

    The polka dots are great. I think this is a great interpretation. I think it fits the feel of the whole painting.

  6. You’re so lovely, I can hardly stand it. Such a good take in the inspiration.

  7. That dress is really beautiful, and I think it totally fits the painting 🙂

  8. This is so cute! I love the soft colors and the bottom on that dress!

  9. liz says:

    very flattering outfit! the dress is adorable [again thrifted..] and even though that painting has always disturbed me a bit, you pay homage to the style and colors while modernizing it!

  10. Christina’s World is one of my favorite paintings. You did such a great job with your outfit. Found you on ColorBlind. Congrats on getting the thrifter of the week award. I’m your new follower.
    xx
    maya
    http://byebyesoccermom.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

