The Proto-Feminist

I feel like a schoolteacher in this outfit. Probably because it looks like something Veronika of Tick Tock Vintage would wear, and she’s a teacher… Anyway, today is International Women’s Day. It started out as a political/ feminist thing, but over the years – and certainly in Vietnam – it’s become a sort of Mother’s Day, a day for us to celebrate all women. So happy Women’s Day, ladies!

Speaking of feminism, I’m working on a guest post about feminist heroines in pre-feminism literature (hence the title “Proto-Feminist”) for my friend’s blog. So far the characters I’ve come up with are Jane Eyre, Elizabeth Bennett, Marianne Dashwood (maybe – I think she’s more of a feminist than Elinor), Anne Elliot from Persuasion (another maybe), and Margaret Hale from Elizabeth Gaskell’s North and South. Those are the characters I know best, but if you guys have any suggestion, I’ll be happy to add them to my list!

Dress: Target (thrifted), Cardigan & Shoes: thrifted
Tights: We Love Colors (brown), Forever21 (lace)

6 Comments on “The Proto-Feminist”

  1. Happy Women’s Day! I was trying to think of some more proto-feminist heroines, and I came up with Francie Nolan in “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn and Jo March in “Little Women.” When I was younger, I wanted to be Jo – she was the best.

    • Salazar says:

      Ah right, I forgot about Jo! I’m not familiar with “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn”, but it’s early 20th century, right? I know that was before the peak of the feminist movement, but I’m looking for something more from 19th century and back.

  2. Loren says:

    LOVE your white lacy tight and the shoes. It is a little ‘school teacher’ but in a fun vintage way.
    I think of Beatrice from Much Ado About Nothing as a strong female pre-feminism character. She quips and quabbles with the best of them.

  3. Cortney A. says:

    Wow those lace tights are amazing.

    As for feminist heroines… I’ll ask a friend of mine. 🙂 I tend to stick a little closer to Russian lit, and I honestly can’t think of any feminist heroines in the books I’ve read. :/

  4. carascloset says:

    I often hear: “International” and it turns out to be just the western hemisphere, or even just North America. So glad it’s actually “International”


Leave a Reply

