Trend Follower

The necktie blouse trend is one that I’ve been wanting to try, but it took me a while to finally found a necktie blouse at my local Goodwill. However this may be a case where I was so focused on the trend that I didn’t think about how it would work with my wardrobe and style, because once I got the blouse, I had no idea what to pair it with. In the end I picked my staples – sweater, jeans, boots – which worked out fine.

So you guys have any other idea how to wear a necktie blouse without looking like a secretary out of the 80’s? (Of course, it doesn’t help that my blouse probably is from the 80’s :P)

Blouse: thrifted, Jeans: H&M
Sweater & Boots: Target
Brooch: vintage

10 Comments on “Trend Follower”

  1. I think the trick to not looking like the 80s is to do what you’ve done here – pair the shirt with more modern pieces. I really like this outfit – the blouse is cute but not costumey.

    If you try to pair it with a skirt, I would make sure the skirt is not below knee-length – midi-length skirts are great but would look really dated with a necktie blouse.

  2. Works just fine?! Work well, you mean. I love the dark sweater, dat boots thing, easy and lovely.
    Welcome to the world of bow blouses. It’s good fun.

    • Salazar says:

      After trying on a bunch of different outfits, I was a little frustrated, so this was more of a “fine, whatever.” I guess I should’ve remembered, simple is always best 🙂

  3. Loren says:

    I’ve seen them all over and I pretty much lover them. This one is very cute the way you’ve worn it. I think pairing it with something very modern might help, a short skirt or a shorts & tights. I’m sure you’ll figure something awesome out.

    • Salazar says:

      Shorts and tights might look good! I only have bermuda shorts though, and I don’t think they’ll look good with this. I guess it’s time to bring out some old jeans…

  4. Cara says:

    I know what you mean! I NEEDED a yellow sweater… then spent weeks trying to figure out how to wear it! As for your shirt – what’s wrong with being a secretary from the 80s? Oh nostalgia!!

  5. Cortney A. says:

    I love that you paired it with jeans and sweater! 🙂

    I think you could check out the Jason Wu for Target lookbook too. There were a lot of necktie blouses in the collection and they were styled pretty nicely. I think a cute a-line skirt that hits above the knee might work with it?

  6. Megan says:

    I think you styled this top perfectly! I haven’t been able to find a bow-blouse thrifting yet, but I do have one from Ruche and I like to wear it tucked into a pencil skirt.

  7. You pull it off very well, super cute. I really like your boots.


Leave a Reply

