Headbang To An Orchestra

I have an embarrassing story about this T-shirt. My sister bought it for me, and for the longest time I just thought it was a cool graphic tee. Then a friend asked me, “Oh, is that an Echo & the Bunnymen shirt?” and I was like, “Huh?” See, I didn’t even know that it says “Lips Like Sugar” on the shirt! I mean, I know the song, but that’s about it. Now I feel slightly pretentious wearing this when I know next to nothing about the band, but well, it is a cool shirt.

I wore this last Saturday when I went to a concert organized by a friend’s roommate, who’s a drummer (yeah, it’s the classic “I know a guy who knows a guy.”) It’s all classic pop and rock songs performed by an orchestra, but with a drum set – sounds weird, I know, but it’s awesome to hear an orchestral version of Enter Sandman and Sweet Child O’ Mine. I was also very excited that there was a Linkin Park song in there too (I was probably the only one to recognize it though :D)


You don’t see a lot of classical concerts with mohawks and strobe lights

Shirt: gift, Skirt: thrifted, Cardigan: Wet Seal, dyed by me
Leggings: Charlotte Russe, Boots: Journee, Belt: thrifted
Brooch: pendant from a Modcloth necklace that I broke

5 Comments on “Headbang To An Orchestra”

  1. Great skirt!
    Like your roboto brooch, so funny!

  2. Loren says:

    We went to an awesome ‘Ben Folds plays songs with an orchestra’ thing. It was really neat. They snuck some Start Trek themes in there.
    I love the graphic tee. I purged them all from my closet when I became a ‘grown-up’ but I love the way they look with a cardigan or a blazer.

    • Wow wow wow… Loren, you’re telling me you went to a concert in which there was Ben Folds, an orchestra, AND Star Trek?! How have I not heard of this wonderfulness?!

      My husband and I ran into Ben Fold’s once in the airport and he freaked out and had to start chatting with him. I was SO embarrassed!

  3. That concert sounds AMAZING! I would have loved it! Oh, and I really like that robot pin, so cute!

  4. Cortney A. says:

    Ahhh ways to style graphic tees! I got rid of most of mine once I graduated from college, but I still have a couple left. This is perfect. 🙂

    And I love the polka dotted skirt. 🙂


Leave a Reply

