Style Imitating Art #1

After my “inspired by a painting” outfit a couple of weeks ago, Jess of Animated Cardigan and I decided to collaborate on a challenge called Style Imitating Art, where you would take a painting and interpret it – whether it’s the use of colors, textures, or lines – into an outfit. Jess went first, and she picked A Bar at the Folies-Bergère by Manet:

There are a lot of things to draw inspiration from here, but I focused on two main elements for my outfit – the colors (a pair of orange heels would’ve been perfect, but you can’t have everything), and the lace detail. The funny thing is, I’ve worn two outfits which can be seen as interpretation of this painting, so I had to think outside the box a bit. It worked out too, because the ABC’s of Style challenge is “U for Unexpected” – and layering a blazer over a cardigan is certainly unexpected for me.

So, a good start to a fun challenge. Read Jess’ post if you want to know more about it, and tune in next Monday when I announce my painting!

Blazer: thrifted, Cardigan: Ann Taylor thrifted
Pants: Urban Outfitters, Shoes: Forever21
Brooch: vintage

11 Comments on “Style Imitating Art #1”

  1. This is so fantastic, I knew which painting you used before I even scrolled down- no joke. The broad lace and brooch gave it away. This is a really wonderful modern interpretation (which you so consistently do so very well!).

  2. Missy says:

    Love this interpretation! You did a great job!

  3. Aquí says:

    this is perfect! You really made this look your own and i love the mustard accent!

  4. Jess says:

    I can’t wait to see what you pick! I’m working on my post for this week as I type 🙂

  5. Loren says:

    Love this look. Super classy. The brooch is such a great touch. Love the painting idea too. I think this is a fun idea for a challenge.

  6. Cortney A. says:

    Wow this turned out wonderfully! I’ll have to try a cardigan under a blazer in the future! 🙂

    I also love your signature brooch. 🙂

  7. Megan says:

    Love this! I can definitely see how you picked up some of the details to imitate the painting. Really love those shoes 🙂

  8. Courtney says:

    The brooch on the lace is gorgeous! It really gets the vibe of the period of the painting into your outfit.

    Courtney
    wearingwhatiwant.blogspot.com

  9. Okay, I love love love love love those shoes! For realz, LOVE!

  10. Stacey says:

    This is a GREAT outfit! I love the brooch worn on top of the lace.

  11. […] is the one-year anniversary of Style Imitating Art. Can you believe that exactly one year ago Jess and I put our heads together and came up with this crazy idea to dress like paintings? In fact […]


Leave a Reply

