The Forest Always Kept Us Warm

Today’s ABC’s of Style challenge is “Q for Quick”, so I decided to bring out my new cape – I know the silhouette works for me, and I don’t have to worry about what I wear underneath. Throw it over an old T-shirt and you’re done.

It wasn’t until I finished shooting these pictures that I realized I should have worn my leaf brooch, so that I could pretend I was in Lord of the Rings. Actually, on second thought, if we’re talking about the movies, then I’ll pretend I’m in The Hobbit instead. I mean – Richard Armitage, Martin Freeman, Benedict Cumberbatch and Stephen Fry? You guys have fun with your Aragorn and Legolas, I’m good.


Silly poses are required when you’re wearing a cape

This is only remotely connected to the topic, but speaking of my British crushes, anybody watched Smash last night? It’s about a Broadway show, so it’s like Glee for grown-ups. I thought it was a pretty good pilot, even though I only watched it because of Jack Davenport (just like Norrington was the only reason I watched Pirates of the Caribbean 2 & 3.) I hope the show is going to be less annoying than Glee and do well so I can keep watching him 🙂

Cape: Modcloth; Jeans: thrifted
Boots & socks: Target; Brooch: vintage
Post title: from the lyric of Athlete’s Black Swan Song

6 Comments on “The Forest Always Kept Us Warm”

  1. Loren says:

    Um… Benedict Cumberbatch is gonna be in the Hobbit? Awesome. We recently saw the new Sherlock Holmes movie and when they showed Watson I thought ‘Wait a minute… where Sean of the Dead?’ then I remember that is the OTHER Sherlock Holmes. It was still pretty good though.
    I am LOVING your cape. The little collar is perfect. And you do look a bit like a cute little Hobbit in the woods in it. Or maybe a tall sexy elf? Pick the one you like best.

    • Salazar says:

      Yeah, he’s going to be the voice of Smaug. So we won’t get to see his face… but his voice is good enough 😛

      Wait, “Shaun of the Dead”? That’s Simon Pegg. Martin Freeman’s not in that.

  2. Cara says:

    I love the cape! So fabulous!!

  3. Courtney says:

    Very fun cape. and I love the Brooch – gorgeous.

    Courtney
    wearingwhatiwant.blogspot.com

  4. Cortney A. says:

    Ahhh I love the cape! And the awesome funny poses. 😉

    I’ll definitely have to check out Smash! I watched the first two seasons of Glee, but I was pretty much over it by the time the second season hit.

  5. Megan says:

    I love the color of your pants, and this cape looks so cute on you! Love all your poses 😀


Leave a Reply

