The Painted Veil

I just watched The Painted Veil again over the weekend – the remake with Naomi Watts and Edward Norton, though I am curious about the 1934 version with Greta Garbo too. Good movie, but most of all I just love the wardrobe of Kitty Fane (Naomi Watts’ character) – pretty cotton dresses in soft pastels (even if the hems are a little short by 1920’s standard), wingtips, and lovely hats. So this outfit is partially inspired by it.

The skirt is for the ABC’s of Style challenge, “P for Pleats.” I could say I picked the stripes to modernize the look, but the truth is that this striped shirt goes with everything and I was too lazy to find something more 1920’s 😛

Top: H&M; Skirt: Helmut Lang, thrifted
Oxfords: Miss Me, via Buffalo Exchange
Belt: thrifted; Golden Snitch necklace: self-made

4 Comments on “The Painted Veil”

  1. I love the coloring of these photos! And your striped top is perfect!

    See Me Rwar

  2. Cortney A. says:

    Seriously love that skirt. I’ve been looking for one exactly like it for months now!

    And those oxfords are adorable. 🙂

  3. Jess says:

    Oh dear, that skirt is wonderful. I love how there’s vertical texture and horizontal print. What a lovely pairing!

  4. Megan says:

    I’ve never seen The Painted Veil.. I should watch it. Love this pleated skirt on you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

