Shoot And Run

This was probably the fastest photo session (calling it a “photo shoot” would be too grand) I’ve done in a while. I usually take a long time to fuss over the exposure and focus, but technically I was trespassing on this alley, so I had to get out of there quick before anyone caught me.

I don’t know what I was worrying about though. On the rare occasion someone does stop to ask me what I’m doing, I’ve gotten only two responses for my answer: either they will launch into a lecture about photography, or they will give me a look that says “OK, ya weirdo,” and move on. Or they will ask me if I’m a surveyor (that’s happened twice now – it’s the tripod), and I’m always tempted to ask back, “Do you honestly think a surveyor would dress like this?”

Oh and, today’s Winter Edition Challenge prompt is to interpret this look, which is perfect because the ABC’s Style challenge is “N for Neutral + Neon.” I love it when things coincide like that.

Shirt: Target; Sweater: J. Crew, thrifted
Skirt: thrifted; Shoes: Mudd, thrifted
Brooch: vintage

16 Comments on “Shoot And Run”

  1. Aquí says:

    love this skirt! gorgeous color! I found one similar at a thrift shop recently but it didnt fit me right in the hips 😦

  2. Janelle says:

    Perfect! I love the brooch.

  3. What a beautiful outfit! I love all of the colors together. Keep up the great styling!

  4. Outfit 31 says:

    Very cute! Luv your outfit!!!

  5. Courtney says:

    I love the brooch. It popped out to me from the very first picture. Great interpretation.

    Courtney
    wearingwhatiwant.blogspot.com

  6. wow, you completely nailed it! the addition of the brooch was a nice touch.
    your post made me chuckle. perhaps people have seen some surveyors dressed in pencil skirts before 🙂

  7. ki. says:

    You look great and you really interpreted the look well 🙂 I’m not brave enough to take photos outside yet… I wouldn’t be able to stand any looks/questions 😛

  8. Erica says:

    Wow – you have it perfectly! That skirt and brooch are divine! And I’m impressed that you even think about exposure and such. I just tell my husband, ok, take like 5 photos, I’m late to work. You photos, even for a quick shoot, turned out beautifully.

    North Meets South

  9. Loren says:

    You look adorable. This might sound silly but I was really surprised how many ladies seemed to own green skirts. It seems like such a random thing to be in everyone’s closet.
    I have only ONCE been asked what I was doing and that person was my boss and he asked if I was doing an art project. And I bent the truth & said yes 😉

  10. Great interpretation! Love the brooch too!

  11. choosingyou says:

    You have the best pin collection ever! I love the sweater too

  12. Anne says:

    Very cute! And a great interpretation of the inspiration photo. It was making me wish for such a great green skirt!

  13. Kayla says:

    Taking pictures in public is so embarrassing. But you found a great spot! And that color is gorgeous.

    Kayla
    Freckles in April

  14. Kelly Jo says:

    What a great interpretation! I love how you added the brooch! What a perfect touch to make it your own!

  15. shopfreak says:

    wow, great job! you are spot on!

  16. This is perfect! You nailed this one!

    See Me Rwar


Leave a Reply

