Bonjour

When I put together this outfit for the next Winter Edition Challenge prompt, “Bright Colors”, I intended to just have the jacket and the blue socks as my “bright” elements, but it felt too monochromatic, so I decided to add the orange/red scarf that I made from a piece of leftover fabric. It wasn’t until I looked at the photos that I realized, all I need is a beret and a pencil mustache and I can be your stereotypical Frenchman. You know, this guy (the string of onions has to do with the origin of the look – it came from the Breton farmers who sold onions door-to-door in the UK back in the day, nicknamed “Onion Johnny“.)

Shirt: Forever21; Jacket: Pendleton, thrifted
Jeans & socks: Target; Booties: ShopRuche
Scarf: self-made (it’s polyester, so I didn’t even hem it, I just singed the edge to keep it from fraying.)

5 Comments on “Bonjour”

  1. Rebecca says:

    This is such a cute jacket! And I love how to tied a red ribbon around your neck. With the stripes you look so very french!

    See Me Rwar

  2. Loren says:

    So cute. The jacket & the socks are nice but I really love the scarf.
    Also is it wrong that nearly any time I hear/read the word Bonjour I launch into the song from the beginning of Beauty & the Beast in my head. LOVED that movie as a kid.

  3. Say says:

    Adorable! I love the whole outfit and that red scarf is so ingenious!

  4. Megan says:

    So cute! I love the colored socks and scarf.

  5. Cortney A. says:

    And you’ve got some nice pattern mixing in there too! 🙂 Love the french inspired look. 🙂


Leave a Reply

