Just Like A Painting

So today’s Winter Edition challenge prompt is “Channel Someone”, which is perfect because the ABC’s of Style challenge is “I for Inspired by.” I already channeled Peggy Olson last week, so for this one I picked something a little different, namely the painting Return from the Boating Trip, by one of my favorite painters, James Tissot (hey, that’s still a real woman, so I can totally channel her, right?):

Of course I didn’t go literal with it (trust me, I would if I could); I just picked out elements from the lady’s outfit to integrate into my own – the black-and-white stripes (a lot of women in Tissot’s paintings wore this Tim Burton-like stripes), the red plaid, and the little blue bow. I’ve been wanting to do the “inspired by a painting” outfit for a while, so this is a good way to start.

Also, good news: all the little annoyances from the other day got resolved! I bought a new bike seat, the Modcloth package finally arrived (it was delivered to the wrong apartment building), and despite all that, I finished my work ahead of schedule. What a relief.

Plaid shirt: tailored; Striped shirt: Forever21
Skirt: thrifted; Shoes: Mudd, thrifted
Sash: from another dress

14 Comments on “Just Like A Painting”

  1. i’m in love with your outfit and your choice of inspiration. truly brilliant.

  2. ki. says:

    Wow you’ve really used the inspiration well! Love your look 🙂

  3. Rebekah says:

    That is such a cool concept!

  4. Courtney says:

    very cute. I love the flare of the skirt hem.

    Courtney
    WearingWhatIWant.blogspot.com

  5. Kate says:

    Ah! So sweet. The details on this make it a perfect modern re-interpretation. Beautifully done!

  6. Kayla says:

    This is my fav of the day so far. Fantastic inspiration and a fabulous outfit.

  7. choosingyou says:

    I love that you picked such a unique inspiration piece and you did it so well! Kudos!!

  8. Jess says:

    I love it! I’m considering starting a weekly series like this and now I’m worried I won’t be able to do as well as you! The touch of plaid especially is wonderful.

  9. Cortney A. says:

    Wow, I love that skirt! You always have the best thrifting finds. 🙂 I also love that you were inspired by a painting! 🙂

  10. Brinestone says:

    Brilliant choice of inspiration.

  11. […] my “inspired by a painting” outfit a couple of weeks ago, Jess of Animated Cardigan and I decided to collaborate on a […]

  12. […] as well as subtle textures and patterns to work with, right? It’s awesome, because a Tissot painting is actually what gave Jess and me the idea of starting SIA in the first place. Head over to […]


Leave a Reply

