Too Much

This outfit was the result of me trying to kill two birds with one stone – I wanted to participate in both the ABC’s of Style challenge (“F for Feather or Fur”, hence the faux fur collar) and Freckles in April’s Winter Edition challenge (“Layers”, hence the layered tights), but it ended up looking too mismatched, like I’m trying too hard. I think if I had switched out all the pink elements for black, it would’ve looked more put-together and less like Modcloth threw up all over me. Oh well.

Dress: Modcloth; Shirt & Boots: Target
Tights: Forever21 (lace) and Kohl’s (magenta)
Collar: self-made; Brooch: vintage
Sash: gift from my friend Debbi

17 Comments on “Too Much”

  1. Kate says:

    Frickin’ frack, I disagree completely! This is a very full look, true, but the balance is right on- the black layered sleeves, the grounded black boots, the darker accent of the collar… And pink accents, too (the ivory tights with pink peeking through was so perfect- it mimics the detail of your brooch). This is a reeeeally good one.

  2. gorgeous collar and brooch! x

  3. Faith says:

    Love those layered tights! 🙂 I don’t think it looks mismatched at all…looks great!

  4. preethi says:

    I actually really like it – love those tights!

    preethi
    lace, etc.

  5. aaah, that leopard collar is amazing! I LOVE it 😀 x

  6. Rebecca says:

    Those layered tights are so gorgeous! What a fun look!

    See Me Rwar

  7. I also disagree! I love the layered tights, and I think your collar is adorable. The end. :o)

  8. Kelly Jo says:

    Layered tights = genius! Totally stealing that idea!

  9. choosingyou says:

    I layered my lace tights today too! You look great.

  10. Rebekah says:

    OMGosh, I love it. I loooove the tights. The whole outfit, really.

  11. Loren says:

    I love the layered tights with the pink belt. And the leopard collar with the blue dress but I think you might have two really cute looks smushed into one here.

  12. Cara says:

    At least too much ModCloth is better than not enough!!

  13. I love the layered tights!

  14. Cortney A. says:

    Hmm. I think the only thing I would have changed would be to have the overlay tights be black instead of white (because I like the pink accents). I do love the look of the layered tights though! It’s soo pretty!

  15. Megan says:

    “like Modcloth threw up on me” haha! I LOVE those layered tights.

  16. Kayla says:

    “modcloth threw up on me” totally cracked me up BUT I respectfully disagree! This is SO fantastic. The layered tights in particular have me thinking maybe I need to someday get on the tights train.

    Kayla
    Freckles in April

  17. I don’t think it’s too much at all! And I must say, I love the collar. Great work on making two challenges work!


Leave a Reply

