Weekend Round-Up: Happy Lunar New Year

Tomorrow is the Lunar New Year (actually it’s Monday but I’m going by Vietnamese time) and I’m having some friends over for a Vietnamese feast. It’s going to be fun!

LINKS OF THE WEEK:

– First order of business: you guys may have noticed the “Stop Censorship” ribbon on my blog. It is a protest against the SOPA/PIPA bills, which, if you don’t know much about, I’m just going to let this video tell you.

– Moving on: this is kind of random, but how adorable are these outfits inspired by Ratatouille? (the Pixar movie, not the dish.)

– From rats to cats, I’m loving these kitty elbow patches.

– Guess which ones of Refinery29’s 2012 trend predictions I’ll be happy about if they do become big?

– Usually I don’t care much for menswear runway shows, but this Prada one is interesting because they had a bunch of A-list actors walking it. Everyone looked rather uncomfortable though, like “Am I really doing this?” (I’m looking at you, Gary Oldman), except for Jamie Bell who absolutely killed it.

– A couple of DIY’s: DIY collars, also from Refinery29, and cute tealight holders that look like a fairytale town at night.

– And finally, a random link: classic movies from an alternate universe. I’d totally go see Inception made by Fritz Lang. Or Rushmore with James Dean, Audrey Hepburn and Jimmy Stewart.

BLOG OF THE WEEK: Threads and Buttons by Kelley. I can really identify with this blog not only because of Kelley’s easy, relatable and mostly thrifted style, but also because like me, she lives in an almost perpetually sunny place, so we understand the frustration of not being able to bring out your winter coats for more than a couple of weeks.

BOOK OF THE WEEK: “Pyramids” by Terry Pratchett. I’m slowly building my Discworld collection (still haven’t got any of the Witches books though… I may just break down and buy a new copy of Wyrd Sisters instead of waiting for it to show up at the book sale), and while this one is pretty much a stand-alone book (the only recurring character is Death, making his obligatory came0), it’s no less enjoyable. It is, as you may have guessed it, a satire on the Ancient Egyptian culture, and my favorite part has to be the inner monologues of a camel named You Bastard who also happens to be the world’s greatest mathematician (all camels are great mathematicians, didn’t you know that?)

SONG OF THE WEEK: “Books From Boxes” by Maxïmo Park. I always associate this song with my trip to Germany back in 2007, because I think the band was touring there at the time, so they played the live version on MTV a lot (I don’t know about now, but back then, MTV Europe still played more music than whatever stands for “reality” crap they have now.)

2 Comments on “Weekend Round-Up: Happy Lunar New Year”

  1. Loren says:

    Love me some Terry Pratchet, you definitely need to cave in and buy Wyrd Sisters. Most of my favorite bits happen in his witches books. (Masquerade is one of my favorites)

  2. Megan says:

    I love Threads and Buttons, it’s such a great blog and Kelley is awesome.

    Happy Monday!!


Leave a Reply

