Will Type For Don Draper

I’m not sure if today’s outfit qualifies for the next ABC’s of Style challenge, “C is for Celebrity-inspired” or not, but it is inspired by this Peggy Olson outfit from season 3 of Mad Men (she wore it in episode 3, “My Old Kentucky Home”, and also in the season finale, with a white cardigan.) I went with a fictional character instead of a celebrity because I don’t really have a celebrity style icon, and while I appreciate the chic simplicity of celebrity street style (which is easiest to recreate), it is a little too simple for my taste.

The Peter Pan collar pushes the outfit into schoolgirl territory a bit, but a Peggy outfit is not complete without a collar and/or a sad little bow. This skirt I actually bought for Halloween two years ago, when I dressed up as Peggy and my two friends were Joan and Betty (there wasn’t a good picture of the costume, because we didn’t go anywhere, just sat home and watched The Walking Dead.) It’s a bit long, but thankfully midis are in style, so I don’t have to pay a tailor to have it shortened (I can’t do it myself because of the pleats.)

Cardigan: Bloomingdales, thrifted
Skirt: vintage, Shoes: Mudd, thrifted
Belt: Forever21, Collar: self-made
Post title: this awesome card on Etsy

10 Comments on “Will Type For Don Draper”

  1. Cortney A. says:

    Wow, I really love it (enough to want to steal this entire outfit)! That skirt is amazing. 🙂

  2. Of course this qualifies for today’s Celebrity Inspired challenge!! Wonderful outfit. You look so darn cute. Thanks for joining in the ABCs of Style challenge today!

  3. Rachel says:

    this outfit is amazing and totally something i wanna steal!! you look soooo pretty!!

  4. Loren says:

    The skirt is really lovely. I’m pretty sure a character on Mad Men totally counts as a ‘celebrity’.

  5. Jess says:

    Salazar you look awesome! This outfit is really pretty, and I love your hair in a braid!

  6. Aquí says:

    I love this outfit! The warm tones really suit you!

  7. Joy Peyton says:

    Very cute ensemble! I adore the peter pan collar and I adore that skirt on you !

  8. two birds says:

    she counts as a celebrity as much as anyone else, i think! i love this look on you. it’s so put together and fun, and i love that peter pan collar!

  9. Megan says:

    LOVE that skirt! You look so cute and classic here.


Leave a Reply

