The Last Leaf

I blame blogging for putting into my head the idea of only wearing certain colors during a certain time/season. Take today’s outfit for example. Before I started the blog, I would not think twice about wearing an orange sweater (it appears red in the photos, but it’s actually more of a rust/pumpkin color. I need to fix my white balance) in December – not that I had one back then. But now I’m like, “Is it too much of a fall color? Should I just wear holiday colors now?” Which is silly, of course.

Still, I feel that, for me at least, there is a certain amount of playing dress up when it comes to personal style blogging. I just have to make sure that what I wear every day is not too much of a costume that I lose the “personal” part of it. So for this, I made it even more of a “fall” outfit by adding the leaf brooch. Winter or not, I’m still going to dress like it’s fall if I want to.

Sweater: Target
Jeans: Forever21, remixed
Boots: ShopRuche, remixed
Brooch: Getty Center gift shop

7 Comments on “The Last Leaf”

  1. I struggle with the same exact thing! I sometimes feel the need to dress after holidays or other things, but I always tell myself that it’s crazy thinking! Love the brooch, it’s beautiful! xxx

  2. Cara says:

    I’m the opposite – I’m avoiding wearing red around Christmas, orange around Halloween, or pink around valentine’s day!!

  3. Loren says:

    The sweater looks really lovely on you, and the little pin is so cute! I kind of love dressing ‘seasonally’. It makes me feel extra festive. 🙂

  4. Stacey says:

    Well…technically it’s still fall, right? So that counts! And that sweater is way too pretty to wear for only a few months a year! I love the cowl neck.

    • Salazar says:

      Yeah, LA never really has winter anyway (except it feels like winter for me because I’m from an even hotter place.) But, like I said, the idea of wearing only holiday colors in December is silly. It’s not like I’m dressing for parties every single day.

  5. Cortney A. says:

    Love this! It looks so comfortable. The sweater is gorgeous.

    I never pay attention to what you’re supposed to wear at certain times… If I love it, I wear it!

    Admittedly, I have been known to change 5 times a day…

  6. Audrey says:

    Such cute boots! And, I know what you mean about style blogging having changed what seems appropriate to wear. Most of the time “fall” in San Diego feels like spring, so I want to wear springy colors and open toed shoes, but that doesn’t feel right anymore. Anyway, it feels like fall barely started here, so I have no problem with you dressing more “fall” than winter!


Leave a Reply

