Scarecrow

It’s been crazy windy these past two days, so even though this is what I wore yesterday, it’s only until this morning that the wind died down long enough for me to take pictures of it. Also, the wind was also why I decided to go with this scarecrow brooch I got at the flea market a while ago – granted, it’s more suitable for Halloween, but the scarecrow looks like he’s blowing in the wind.

This week’s Friend Friday is about Christmas wishlist. I’ve never made one (my family does celebrate Christmas, though not in the traditional sense. My parents’ friends from Germany send us a branch of fir or holly, and a loaf of Stollen – sort of like German fruitcake but better, and that’s our Christmas. No gift or anything), but I like making lists, so here’s what I’m wishing for:

– A permanent job: I know, I know, it’s not a gift, but it’s what I really, really, really need. I’m working freelance right now, but a job that will result in a work visa would be nice.
– A new lens:
My old 17-50mm lens is broken, and I missed having a zoom lens. The thing is, I don’t know if it’s better to try and get it fixed, or get a new one entirely.
– The Sandman series by Neil Gaiman:
I’ve wanted to read (and own) this for a long time, but I balk at the idea of spending close to $150 for the 10 trade paperbacks. Maybe I should just succumb to the temptation now…
– New shoes:
Hey, this is about what I want, and not what I need (except for the job), right? And what I want is heeled loafers and laced-up boots.
– A yellow coat:
Again, I don’t need it, but it would help bring a lot of color to my winter wardrobe.

And that’s about it. There are more (a few DVD sets, some books), but I don’t want them that bad. I could get them for myself and whenever I want. So what are you guys wishing for?

Sweater: J. Crew, thrifted
Pants: thrifted
Scarf: Target
Oxfords: Sidecca
Brooch: vintage

12 Comments on “Scarecrow”

  1. Sam says:

    Love the list. I’m hoping for new shoes too, well, new boots anyways. I keep killing the pretty ones that I have lol. Good luck with your list, hope you get everything you want! Especially the job!

  2. Kimberlee says:

    Aww I hope you get a job! I was let go over a year ago and after being unemployed for a few months I just decided to freelance. Now almost a year later I have two great jobs! It will happen, just keep putting yourself out there 🙂

    P.S. Cute outfit!

    • Salazar says:

      Thanks, Kimberlee! It’s tough though, because I’m in the entertainment industry, and it’s almost impossible to get a work visa from that. But I’m going to keep trying!

  3. Cortney A. says:

    Those oxfords are adorable! And you already know how I love colored pants. 🙂

    I’m totally with you on the “permanent job”. Right now I have FOUR part-time jobs, which is kind of ridiculous…

  4. Yara Simón says:

    Love your pin! Good luck with finding a permanent job. I’m definitely in the same boat.

  5. meagan says:

    The red pants, the sweater and your scarf are all absolutely adorable! Thanks for linking up!
    -Meagan
    http://www.spunkychateau.com

  6. lyddiegal says:

    I totally love your red and camel combo!
    And I hope you get all your christmas wishes!

  7. Erica says:

    A yellow coat would be amazing. It’s so nice to have something besides black in the winter time. Cute outfit!

  8. Amy says:

    I love your outfit! The camel sweater is soo pretty and your red pants are divine!

  9. preethi says:

    The red and camel together are SO cute!

    preethi
    lace, etc.

  10. Kayla says:

    I love a good tie blouse..this one looks amazing on you! And your shoes are awesome.


Leave a Reply

