Pages Upon Pages

I’m right on schedule with my NaNoWriMo – 23,470 words! Just need to get to 25,000 today and I’m half way there! Of course most of it is crap, but that’s besides the point. Writing out of sequence helps – my characters are two most emotionally stunted persons you’ll ever meet, so writing the “sequence of love” (or “sequence of luuuuuurve” as I always call it) is such a pain that I decided to get it out of the way first, and now I can just go back and fill in the blank.

Come to think of it, most of my characters are kind of emotionally stunted. Unless they’re kids. If they’re kids, then they’re angry. I write angry kids and emotionally unavailable adults. I don’t know if that’s because I don’t know how to write emotional people, or because I’m emotionally unavailable myself. Two sides of the same coin, isn’t it?

Sweater: from home
Skirt & belt: thrifted
Shoes & tights: Forever21
Brooch: vintage
Post title: from The Engine Driver by The Decemberists (the full line is “I’ve written pages upon pages, trying to rid you from my bones,” which I find rather fitting.)


Some pretty fall leaves I got while doing the photoshoot

7 Comments on “Pages Upon Pages”

  1. Faith says:

    I love your brooches! You always wear them so well!

  2. Ali says:

    Okay, seriously. Those shoes totally rock. Every time I see them I just do a little dance because they are so awesome!

    I love all the colors in today’s outfit – the yellow, the teal, the oatmeal, the black, the cream. They all come together so well!

  3. Loren says:

    These photos are lovely, those tights are spectacular. I’ve never been a good ‘writer’ but lots of authors & screen writers have a signature ‘style’. Yours can be ‘Emotionally Unavailable’.

  4. Megan says:

    LOVE this post. Those shoes are absolutely stunning and that skirt??? What an amazing thrifted find!!! You look so vintage and lovely 🙂 Beautiful

  5. Missy says:

    Beautiful outfit and those tights! Love them! Good job on the novel though – at least you get it down on paper. That’s usually the first stumbling block for most people.

  6. Cortney A. says:

    The brooch is gorgeous. And those tights are amazing! Love the detail in them when you look closely…

    As for NaNo, I know what you mean. My characters managed to irritate me and I haven’t gotten very far at all. I’m absolutely stuck. I’m not sure how to get out of my rut or get un-stuck.

  7. jodi says:

    I love the pops of color!!


Leave a Reply

