Pan Am Recap: “Unscheduled Depature”

A passenger has a heart attack mid-flight, forcing the crew to make an emergency landing in war-riddled Haiti. This is the most tension-filled episode of Pan Am to date, and ironically, I found myself browsing Pinterest during it.

The thing is, as energetic as this episode is, the girls are mostly in the background and the episode itself feels too different from the glossy prettiness of the show. Not every episode has to be a technicolor romp through some tourist destination, but when a soapy show like this tries to deal with heavy subjects, it will always feel inadequate.

The only good thing of this episode is that Colette (finally) has something to do, and yet that something is entirely based on the fact that she speaks French. This storyline is OK for a stand-alone episode, I guess, but they’re going to have to figure something else for her character other than “French” if we’re to know her better. Also, does anyone find it a little ridiculous that these stewardesses keep bringing refugees into the US and getting away with it? First Kate with her East German spy, now Colette with her Haitian girl.


Also, Colette, ma chère? You’re much too good for Dean

The other girls only have a few moments, which would be fine if they are true “character” moments, not half-concocted “Oh they need something to do.” Maggie’s… thing (I can’t call it a storyline) with the douchy playboy passenger gives us nothing other than Maggie’s usual sassiness, and I’ve had it up to here with Laura’s insipid smile.

The only one that somewhat resonates is Kate’s connection with the passenger having the heart attack, Carl Fredricksen, oh wait, Henry (he reminds me of Mr. Fredricksen though – a grumpy old man on his way to Venezuela. Only Henry’s on a plane instead of a house tied to balloons.)

At least it has progression, because this is Kate’s way of finding closure from the affair with Niko. I can even get behind her decision to leave poor Henry behind, but I’m sorry, the sight of his body on the tarmac is kinda creepy.


I thought I’d had my share of bodies for one night with The Walking Dead…

Anyway, Pan Am is taking a three-week hiatus, so I’ll try to have the usual movie reviews up during those weeks. Do you have any request/suggestion? I mostly review costume dramas, but if there’s any movie you guys want me to write about, let me know. I’m always happy for an excuse to check out new movies 🙂

4 Comments on “Pan Am Recap: “Unscheduled Depature””

  1. Missy says:

    My fiancé and I have decided that this episode was our last one. We can’t take anymore. The cheese is just too much. We really wanted to like it (huge Mad Men fans here) but its mostly the same storyline on repeat and when they depart from the storyline the do absurd things instead. Not happy about this decision but it didn’t hold up for us. 😦

    • Salazar says:

      Completely agreed with you on the absurd departure from the usual stories. And you know, Mad Men is coming back soon so we’ll still get our 60’s drama fix 🙂

  2. Cortney A. says:

    The dead body on the tarmac with her kneeling beside it? That’s… bizarre.

    As in, I don’t even know what to say. My suspension of disbelief just broke…

  3. Reader says:

    Love the show & hope it survives


Leave a Reply

