Only Happy When It Rains

It was insanely overcast yesterday when I took these photos, though it didn’t rain. I like rain, but I don’t like dry and overcast days because they make me homesick. All I need is the smell of incense and it’ll take me right back to Lunar New Year (which is actually a long holiday in Vietnam, sort of like Christmas break, though only a few countries beside us celebrate it now.) I’ve missed six Lunar New Year holidays since I came to the US, because it’s always around February and never coincides with any holiday over here.

Anyway, to brighten up a gray day, I added some (sort of) complementary colors to my outfit and take pictures in front of the most contrasting thing I could find. Works out pretty well, don’t you think? Looking at these photos, you’ll never guess that the sky above me looks like this:

In other news, it’s 11/11/11. I don’t get the excitement over days like these at all (I’m guessing there will be a bigger to-do next year on 12/12/12 because it will be the last), and my reaction is no more than “Huh, cool” and a shrug, but you’re welcome to make any wish later tonight at 11:11.

Shirt: Gap thrifted, remixed
Sweater: Ann Taylor, thrifted
Jeans: H&M, remixed
Boots: Target, remixed
Flower pin: self-made
Post title: song by Garbage

Linked up to Not Dead Yet Style‘s Visible Monday.

10 Comments on “Only Happy When It Rains”

  1. Loren says:

    I just need you to know that I do an amazing Karaoke version of this Garbage song. the colors here are pretty great. I’m loving the big red pin.

  2. Aya says:

    Hello! I am new to your blog, but was wondering if you have ever been to Little Saigon in Orange County (south of you) for the Tết festival? Not sure if it would help with homesickness or not, but thought I’d drop that in in case you didn’t know about it.

    In San Francisco because the Asian American population is so large, Lunar New Year is a school holiday. (:

    • Salazar says:

      Hey Aya, welcome to the blog!

      I do know about the Little Saigon Tết festival, but it’s a little too far for me (not having a car and all :() And I still have my own little celebration with spring rolls, bánh chưng (rice cakes) and things like that, but it’s not the same, you know? It’s more about the atmosphere of home than the actual celebration itself.

  3. Cortney A. says:

    I love the look of a button up under a sweater. 🙂 So cute.

    Also–where do you find boots!? I’m seriously loving every single pair you wear.

    • Salazar says:

      I got them from all over – this pair is from Target, the brown pair I thrifted, the tan pair from a store called Reflections at the mall, and the black slouch pair from Amazon. I just keep an eye out for what I like, and if they’re on sale or not (which, funnily enough, most of these aren’t. But I was kinda in a boot-buying frenzy last season.)

  4. Pretty color combo! I love the green, but the red flower pin really rocks the whole look together.

    LeeAnne, Style N Season
    http://stylenseason.blogspot.com

  5. You’re right, these photos totally make it look like it is a beautiful sunny day. I love your bright colors!

  6. meagan says:

    I love how you have the shirts layered and I’m dying over those boots. Thanks for linking up!
    -Meagan
    http://www.spunkychateau.com

  7. Yes, you did a great job of brightening the day. Especially your red flower – very pretty! Thanks for linking to Visible Monday.

  8. Love the color of your sweater. Amazing how the day looks sunny and it’s really cloudy. Color can do amazing things.


Leave a Reply

