Imaginary Accessories

My plan to “take pictures first, post later” works out pretty well most days. Yesterday was not one of those days. I’d been writing all day, so when I finally remembered to take pictures, it was already late (don’t let the light in the photos fool you, it was thanks to my slow shutter speed.) As a result, the outfit came out a bit half-assed. The skirt and top are OK, but I forgot to add a brooch, and my black slouch boots would look much better than these tan ones. So if you could imagine those, it would be what I’m wearing today.

A question about the boots – I’m considering letting them go. I have enough boots as it is and these guys don’t really go with anything in my closet. Plus mid-calf boots make me look kinda stumpy. O wise readers, what say you? (sorry, my novel is a fantasy set partly in 17th century England, so I’ve been thinking in this kind of language all day.)

Top, skirt & belt: thrifted
Boots: Reflection
Tights: Kohl’s

6 Comments on “Imaginary Accessories”

  1. Ali says:

    I’m always a fan of de-cluttering your closet. If you don’t love it, get rid of it!

    I DO love the mustard tights and polka dot skirt, though!

  2. Cortney A. says:

    Oooh I love the pattern mixing!

    As for the boots, I say if you don’t wear them or they aren’t comfortable then get rid of them. Otherwise I would keep them (I’m always a fan of keeping things).

    My reasoning is: your foot size is not going to change, and your idea of what you want your style to be might. For all you know, in a couple years tan boots are going to be really in and you’ll end up having to pick up a pair again.

    Of course, take this with a grain of salt, since I’m desperate for boots and I’d love to snag a pair like those. šŸ™‚

    • Salazar says:

      That’s my line of thought exactly! I always end up hoarding stuff that I don’t always wear, thinking “I may want them later on…” But I guess I can keep these… for now.

      Too bad we don’t wear the same size (you’re a 5 or a 6, right?), otherwise I’d send them to you in a heartbeat.

  3. Loren says:

    Hmmm… these boots are the sort of thing that I would put in the trunk of my car or hide in the back of the closet for a couple months. If I didn’t feel the need to seek them out in that time then it’s time for them to go.

  4. Megan says:

    This doesn’t look half-assed at all! You look very pulled together and cute šŸ™‚

  5. Jess says:

    Are you kidding me?! I gasped when I saw this outfit, I absolutely love it! The patten mixing is spot on. I personally like the boots but I agree with what Loren said–hide them in the back of your closet and if you never seek them out, it’s time to find them a new home.


Leave a Reply

