Favorite Books

When I saw that this week’s Friend Friday is about your favorite books (in honors of NaNoWriMo), I couldn’t pass it up. Even though I have the “Book of the Week” feature, those are not always my favorite, so with this post I can rant about all the books that I read long ago and still love.

It’s hard to pick just 5, though. So, in no particular order:

1. Good Omens (Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman) Two of my favorite authors, ’nuff said. It’s one of the books that I reread at least once a year because I pick it up for a quote or something, and start reading, and can’t stop until I finish. I was very excited to learn that it’s going to be adapted into a mini series.

2. The Land and Forest of the South (Doan Gioi) This is a Vietnamese classic kid’s book, about the adventures of an orphaned boy in the Mekong Delta during the French Indochina War. It’s full of characters so well-drawn that you feel like you know them, and cool details about the local life that reads almost like a fun travel book. I grew up reading this – it has a permanent place on our dinning room table, because my sister and I always read it during meals and quote passages at each other. Sometimes I wish I could translate it into English and introduce it to the world, but it’s one of those books so colloquial that a lot of it will be lost in translation anyway.

3. Anna Karenina (Leo Tolstoy) Another book that I reread at least once a year. I love how Tolstoy describes the inner workings of his characters’ minds, almost stream-of-conscious, but not quite. Mind you, I only read the Vietnamese translation though. It’s easier on my brain.

4. Totto-chan, the Little Girl at the Window (Tetsuko Kuroyanagi) Another book I grew up reading. This childhood memoir is about an unconventional elementary school in Japan before World War II, where the classrooms are old train cars and the students are allowed great freedom of expression. Seriously, I get choked up just thinking about it.

5. The Graveyard Book (Neil Gaiman) I could probably fill this whole list with Neil Gaiman’s books, but if I have pick one, I’ll go with this. I love the atmosphere and the world that the book builds up and draws you into, and I also have a little crush on Silas.

Honorary mentions: Harry Potter (naturally), I Capture the Castle (Dodie Smith), The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits and a Very Interesting Boy (Jeanne Birdsall), The Thirteenth Tale (Dianne Setterfield), Neither Here Nor There (Bill Bryson), and many, many more!

9 Comments on “Favorite Books”

  1. Cortney A. says:

    Ahhh Good Omens! I loooove Good Omens! Can’t believe I didn’t mention it. 🙂 I’ll definitely pick up The Graveyard Book, I read American Gods and loved it (along with a couple other of Neil’s books) so it will be right up my alley…

  2. i’ve actually never read any of those books. but after reading the descriptions i feel like i need to add them to my Goodreads for sure.

    come check out my FBFF list.

  3. Loren says:

    I’m a big Terry Pratchet & Neil Gaiman’s books. I assume you’ve read Neverwhere (one of my favorite Gaiman books), but have you read the Sandman series? It is awesome.

    • Salazar says:

      I love Neverwhere! I really wish the mini series got a remake, it could use a bigger budget…

      OK, I’m a little ashamed to admit that I haven’t read Sandman yet. Graphic novels are always so much more expensive. I suppose I could go to the library, but I’d like to own them.

  4. Everyone has Anna Karenina on their list it seems. I tried reading it and just couldn’t get into it. I must be shallow. I love to read though!!

    • Salazar says:

      It is a tough book to get into. To be honest, I don’t even like the whole Anna/Vronsky story that much, they’re both too whiny for me. I much prefer Levin and Kitty, they seem more real.

  5. Kimberlee says:

    Omg you read Karenina once a year?! That’s quite an accomplishment

  6. Stacey says:

    I just read Anna Karenina for the first time earlier this year! And now I’m working my way through War and Peace, although it’s taking me months.

  7. Ali says:

    About half of your favorite books are MY favorites, too (Good Omens, I Capture the Castle, Penterwicks, The Graveyard Book) and the other half I’ve never read, though I keep meaning to! I think Anna Karenina had better be next on my reading list!


Leave a Reply

