Choose Your Own 1920’s Heroine

Sorry it took me so long to post my Halloween costume. My schedule is all out of whack this week.

So there’s my costume. It’s not much of a costume, really, more like a heightened version of what I normally wear. At first I was just thinking “Generic 1920’s Girl”, but my friend Debbi insisted that I picked a character.

I couldn’t think of anyone – the only 1920’s character on top of my head was Daisy from The Great Gatsby, and she’s supposed to be a blonde. So I actually had to go online to look at some 1920’s female characters, and finally I went with Cordelia Flyte from Brideshead Revisited. Obscure, I know, but at least she has a hairstyle I can mimick.

We just watched a bunch of Halloween TV episodes, but it was quite fun. Debbi was the only one who dressed up besides me – she’s Gwen from Torchwood: Miracle Day.

Reference images:

Gwen and her baby

Cordelia (as played by Felicity Jones)

And what’s Halloween a black cat, right? Say hello to Crash (he belongs to the friends whose apartment we were hanging out at):


He’s seeing into your soul…

Dress: vintage via Vintage and Gee
Cardigan: Wet Seal, dyed by me
Tights: Buffalo Exchange
Shoes: Walmart thrifted
Cloche: Payless

4 Comments on “Choose Your Own 1920’s Heroine”

  1. I was just gonna say that this is something you normally would wear! πŸ˜€ It’s a good looking outfit though, and pig tails look adorable on you! πŸ™‚

  2. Cortney A. says:

    I love your outfit! That yellow dress is to die for… It definitely gives off a sort of summer time, picnics-in-the-park vibe. πŸ™‚

    Also, I totally love the easy hairstyle for the costume. πŸ™‚

  3. Loren says:

    I thought at first you were doing a ‘Rebecca of Sunny-brook Farms’ thing. Which didn’t really seem like ‘you’. Daisy from the Great Gatsby makes much more sense.
    Also Gwen is a great costume!
    Either way I actually really like this dress, you should wear it again as a ‘not costume’ πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

