The Spectrum A To Z

Sometimes I feel I under-share on the blog a little bit. I just find it hard to talk about myself. So when I saw this post on Roisin’s blog, I decided that it’s a fun way for you guys to know me a bit more, in lieu of the normal blurb. It’s a bit longer too, but bear with me. Here goes.

A – Age: 25. That means I’m due for a quarter-life crisis, right? In fact, I think I’m going through one right now…
B – Bed size:
Twin. My room is only big enough for that.
C – Chore you hate:
Vacuuming. I actually like doing everything else (uh oh, I’m turning into my mom.)
D – Dogs:
Love ’em. Always had them growing up. Our dogs are guard dogs (German shepherds, mostly), so they may look intimidating at first, but they’re still cute and affectionate.
E – Essential start to your day:
Breakfast.
F – Favorite color:
Blue. But I’m trying to open up to other colors too.
G – Gold or silver:
Silver, hands down.
H – Height:
5’5″ (165 cm)
I – Instruments you play: My mom made me take piano lesson when I was about 5. I hated it. I tried taking drum lessons in high school, but then I came to the US for college and didn’t follow through with it. So… none.
J – Job title:
Unemployed/Slave aka Intern 🙂
K – Kids:
No thank you. Kids to me is like Kryptonite to Superman.

L – Live: Los Angeles and hating it.
M – Mother’s name:
Lài (it means “Jasmine” in Vietnamese)
N – Nicknames:
My family still call me “Chuc” (pronounced “Chuke” not “Chuck”). Never knew where it came from, I think it’s a baby-talk version of my real name, Duc.
O – Overnight hospital stays:
Ten days during 7th grade, when I had a mutated strand of viral hemorrhagic fever or something like that. I don’t remember. It was all a blur now.
P – Pet peeves:
Where do we begin? The biggest for me is how people always leave lights and fans and TVs on even when they’re not using them. My roommates do it all the freaking time and it drives me up the wall. And thanks to David Mitchell, now I also get annoyed when people say “could care less” instead of “couldn’t care less”, and “hold down the fort” instead of “hold the fort.” Oh and people who dog-ear books. Get a damned bookmark.
Q – Quote from a movie:
I tend to quote song lyrics and TV shows more (I can quote The IT Crowd all day.) But if it has to be from a movie, I’ll go with this one from Garden State:

Andrew: You know that point in your life when you realize the house you grew up in isn’t really your home anymore? All of a sudden, even though you have some place where you put your shit, that idea of home is gone.
Sam: I still feel at home in my house.
Andrew: You’ll see one day when you move out. It just sort of happens, one day and it’s gone. You feel like you can never get it back. It’s like you feel homesick for a place that doesn’t even exist. Maybe it’s like this rite of passage, you know. You won’t ever have this feeling again until you create a new idea of home for yourself, you know, for your kids, for the family you start, it’s like a cycle or something. I don’t know, but I miss the idea of it, you know. Maybe that’s all family really is. A group of people that miss the same imaginary place.
Sam: Maybe.

See, what did I tell you? Quarter-life crisis.

R – Right- or left-handed: Right-handed.
S – Siblings:
One older sister.
T – Time you wake up:
Around 7 on days I have to work, 7:30 on my days off (but I’ll stay in bed until 8 or so).
U – Underwear:
Uh, what? Yes?
V – Vegetables I hate:
I don’t like raw vegetables. I don’t hate them, but I won’t eat them if there are cooked veggies around. Oh wait, there is one vegetable I hate. Bitter melon. It’s supposed to be good for you, but the name says it all. The worst part? Everyone else in my family loves it.
W – What makes you run late:
The annoying LA public transport, usually.

X – X-Rays you’ve had: One on my back while I was in high school, because I complained of back pain and my parents wanted to make sure everything was lined up right. Turns out it was because my backpack was too heavy. And of course on my teeth recently.
Y – Yummy food that you make:
I’m a fair cook, if I do say so myself. My best dish is probably my spring rolls – the authentic Vietnamese kind, not with funky fillings or egg roll wrappers like you find in Chinese restaurants.
Z – Zoo animals:
Tigers. Not lions, panthers, or any other felines. Tigers. I may be biased because I was born in the Year of the Tiger, but I think they’re the cutest and yet most majestic animal on Earth.

If you made it to the end, thanks 🙂 Feel free to fill this out for yourself and leave a link in the comment, I’d love to know your trivia!

Top & Jeans: thrifted, remixed
Boots: Target, remixed
Scarf: Forever21
Brooch: vintage
Post title: from Death Cab for Cutie’s A Lack of Color (it also fits the outfit because I’m wearing diluted versions of the primary colors.)

12 Comments on “The Spectrum A To Z”

  1. Loren says:

    This look is adorable, I love your scarf! I’ve seen this meme around and I think it’s a lot of fun (although I haven’t done it). I’m a tiger too 🙂

  2. What-the-blank??!! You’re 5’5”??!! And you called yourself SHORT??!!! O.o These were certainly interesting tidbits about yourself! Why do you hate LA so much again? I might have missed that! Where would you rather be if it were up to you? =D I really don’t know any people our age that enjoy bitter melon, but perhaps our taste buds will change! Hope you come outta this quarter-life crisis victorious! 🙂

    • Salazar says:

      Haha yeah, I may be short by American standard, but back in Vietnam I’m considered tall. I still have short legs though 😛

      I don’t like LA because it’s too sprawling, too artificial and there’s no sense of history to it. My dream place to live? The British countryside.

      About the bitter melon thing, my sister liked it when she was my age, so I’m not sure. I just can’t eat it no matter how it’s cooked, it’s too bitter for me.

  3. Kate says:

    I’m so happy you filled this out! Glad to know you a little better.

  4. CC says:

    Loved reading your responses!
    I did it a while back – here’s the post if you’re interested
    http://ccscheapchic.blogspot.com/2011/09/a-z-of-cc.html

  5. It was great to get to know you a bit better. ;D Ditto on bitter melon.

  6. Cortney A. says:

    Ooh I love the entire look… Seriously. I saw it and I was like “That scarf! Those pants! Those boots! That top!” It’s just all around perfect. 🙂

    As for the A-Z.

    P– don’t hate me, but I dog ear books! I can’t help it! It’s a compulsion! (Actually, just a bad habit from my mother). At least I don’t crack the spines!

    Q- After that quote I’m putting Garden State on my netflix right now!

    • Salazar says:

      I guess it’s fine as long as you don’t dog ear my books 😛 I just can’t stand it when I let somebody borrow a book and it comes back all dog eared and stuff.

      Oh you haven’t seen “Garden State”? It’s very post-adolescent indie drama, but I love it – Natalie Portman, Zach Braff, Peter Sarsgaard, and Jim Parsons in a minor role, what’s not to like?

  7. […] other news, 14 Shades of Grey recently had a post the other day that helps blog readers get to know the blogger a little better. Since I sometimes […]

  8. I love all of your colors in this outfit 🙂

    Mix and Match Fashion

  9. Aquí says:

    great photos, I love the last one and I love your pet peeve list. I used to have a roommate who would leave the kitchen cabinets open, who does that??? It drove me nuts.


Leave a Reply

