Green With Envy

This is only peripherally connected to the outfit, but anybody going to watch that new ABC show, Once Upon a Time? At first I thought I would, but as I see more of the preview, I don’t think I’m up for it. The reason: for my thesis in grad school, I wrote a TV script with basically the same plot (fairytale characters stuck in our world.) Just as I finished it, news about Once Upon a Time came out.Β And if that wasn’t bad enough, NBC had to come up with Grimm too. My script still worked as a thesis, but any hope of selling it was out of the window at that point. So… yeah, I can’t watch these shows just yet. It still hurts too much πŸ˜›


But that’s Hollywood for you. No matter what crazy idea you come up with, somebody else has thought of it too. And if you’re not the writers on Lost or Buffy, nobody is going to give a damn no matter how good your idea is. I’m not saying that my idea is better. It’s just tough being a baby writer in this town, as all my classmates can tell you. I only hope that these shows will be successful, then maybe I can send in my script and say, “Hey, I wrote a show just like yours. Hire me?” πŸ˜€

Dress: Modcloth, remixed
Cardigan: Ann Taylor thrifted, remixed
Boots: Bamboo thrifted, remixed
Belt: Forever21 (I can’t seem to wear these boots without this belt)
Brooch: vintage (yes, this whole rant of a post is because my brooch happens to be in the shape of an apple.)

P/S: In case you’re wondering, this is a random carousel at a shopping mall near my house.

10 Comments on “Green With Envy”

  1. Loren says:

    I’d heard about Grimm but I wasn’t sure about it. I gotta admit I’m pretty intrigued about the idea of ‘Once upon a time’ if I watch it I will only tell you if it’s bad. Then your script will have a chance πŸ˜‰
    Also you look adorable. Love the little green apple pin. It makes me think of Snow White.

    • Salazar says:

      I think “Grimm” is more of a procedural cop show, monster-of-the-week thing, with the fairytale mythology added to it, which is actually closer to my script (mine is more like “Buffy”). I’ll check them out eventually, if the reviews are good, just… not when my wounds are barely healed πŸ˜›

  2. Ali says:

    Ouch. That’s rough! Any chance we could get a peek at the script? πŸ™‚

    I’m mooning over the lace on your cardigan. Such a lovely detail!

    • Salazar says:

      I probably shouldn’t post my script online (I haven’t even registered it with the Writer’s Guild or anything), but like I told Loren, it has a bit of “Buffy” and a bit of “Supernatural”, set in the world of fairytale. The details are different from “Once Upon A Time” and “Grimm”, of course, but fairy tales make such a specific backdrop that nobody’s going to want it, not when there are 2 TV shows and at least 2 movies (the two “Snow White” ones) coming out.

  3. AquΓ­ says:

    I love this! The carousal in the background goes perfectly with the colors and textures in your outfit! That little pin is soo cool!

  4. This is adorable! That’s a grey? Usually I don’t like that color, but you did a good job pairing it so it doesn’t look, you know, too grey.

    • Salazar says:

      Do you mean the dress? It’s a chambray dress, so it’s sort of a greyish blue. I think it comes off more grey in the photos because my white setting lowers all the blue hues. I’m trying to wear less grey (as the blog name suggests, I have enough of it in my wardrobe :P)

  5. Cortney A. says:

    I have no clue how you avoid looking short while wearing boots, but you must tell me your secrets! Love the background today. πŸ™‚ Did you ride the carousel after the pictures?

    And I totally understand your pain. It happened to me recently with a book I’m writing based on the story of Persephone/Hades. And then Meg Cabot published a similar novel recently. I was like “noooooooo!” I haven’t read hers yet, since I don’t want it to influence my own but I’m hoping their dissimilar enough that I could get mine published, if I wanted to.

    • Salazar says:

      I honestly don’t think about looking short while wearing boots – I just make sure that the hem of my dress/skirt is above my knees. Try it and see how it looks on you! (And no, I didn’t ride the carousel – wish I could though. I think it was closed by the time I got there.)

      Re: Meg Cabot’s novel – I read “Avalon High” a while ago. It was an interesting, if very young adult-like, take on the Arthurian legend, so I’m interested to see how she tackled Persephone and Hades (which is a creepy story to begin with, but all Greek mythology is insanely incestuous anyway.) Maybe I’ll read it first and tell you πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

