Slices Of Life

This has nothing to do with the outfit, but on Tuesday evening, on my way home from work, I saw a man playing a harp down at the subway station. I was sorry I didn’t have my camera with me, and I didn’t even have any change to give him, because you don’t see a harp player at the subway everyday. It’s beautiful and slightly surreal at the same time, to hear that ethereal music in such an urban setting, like something out of Amélie. Maybe I’ll start collecting these little things and write my own magical realism romance (Jean-Pierre Jeunet, the writer and director of Amélie, started collecting stories that would eventually become the movie, since 1974. Amélie came out in 2001, so if I start now, I can have my movie by… 2038!)

A note about the outfit – this is probably the most office-y (is there a real word for that?) outfit I’ve ever worn. Of course I have to put in my own twists – a little pattern mixing, a vintage pin – but I still feel like a working stiff in it. Like a real grown-up 😛

Shirt, blazer: thrifted, remixed
Pants: thrifted, altered by me, remixed
Shoes: Forever21, remixed
Brooch: vintage

10 Comments on “Slices Of Life”

  1. I love that you added your own twist to the office outfit. ;D

  2. Loren says:

    These shoes are fantastic, and the pattern on your shirt is adorable. You should totally keep a journal like that seems like it would be really inspiring and sweet. I’ve been a little bit in love with Jean-Pierre Jeunet since we saw ‘City of Lost Children’ a couple years ago.

    • Salazar says:

      That’s the one where the kids were kidnapped and their dreams stolen, right? I still have to watch it, and “Delicatessen”, and “Micmacs” too. But I love “A Very Long Engagement”, so I’m sure I’ll like his other stuff as well.

  3. I love the shoes so much. I never see cool shoes like that at my F21.

    • Salazar says:

      I actually ordered them online – went to 3 stores and couldn’t find them either. Their online order was a bit of a hassle, but it was worth it 🙂

  4. Betsy says:

    The Shoes – Love them!!

  5. that blazer couldn’t fit you any better…it’s great! it’s so nice to get something thrifted and alter it so it’s pretty much made for you.

  6. Cortney A. says:

    That top is amazing! At first I thought it looked like splotches, but then I saw the up close view. What a great touch of whimsy. Also, I love the blazer. 🙂

    I especially love that you paired a black blazer with grey pants. 🙂

  7. Black blazers will give you the office-y feel! 😀 That’s a nice fitting blazer! I love the pin too! I need to learn to pin more stuff! 😀 Please share your movie script with us when you’re done!

  8. meagan says:

    Those crop pants look absolutely fabulous on you. Love the print on the blouse too. Thanks for linking up!
    -Meagan
    http://www.spunkychateau.com


Leave a Reply

