Gene Kelly I’m Not

I took these pictures on Wednesday, when we had our first real rain of the season. Needless to say I was pretty excited… until I actually got out into the rain to take pictures. It’s pure luck that the place where I put my camera to shelter it from the rain also looks out at this Stop sign. Note to self: remember to bring a plastic bag for the camera next time it even looks like raining.

I also feel very “fashion blogger” in this (does that make sense?), probably because it was inspired by this outfit which has been circling Pinterest for some time.

Shirt: H&M, remixed
Jeans: Charlotte Russe, remixed
Jacket: Express, thrifted
Shoes: Forever21
Bracelet: self-made (it was supposed to be a necklace, but I messed up.)

I couldn’t do the exact Singing in the Rain pose (afraid of getting wet), so here’s my best attempt:


Well, I tried

(Singing in the Rain photo courtesy of Lifestyle Geek)

10 Comments on “Gene Kelly I’m Not”

  1. Loren says:

    Love that movie! Also love your shoes.
    Didn’t Gene Kelley totally get sick filming that scene? You definitely shouldn’t put yourself in danger like that. Your yellow umbrella though? Adorable.

  2. Mel says:

    Yea, those shoes are sublime. No doubt about it!

    And at least you’re making the best of the rainy day – that’s really what channeling Gene Kelly is about anyway!

  3. Ali says:

    You got the shoes! I’m so glad – they look even better on you than they did in the pin!

    I love the trench coat. I was thinking I would maybe get one this year, but then it SNOWED yesterday, and we go directly to winter coats, do not pass go. Sigh.

  4. Wooot! Love those poses and the yellow umbrella!

  5. Aquí says:

    you look so cute out in the rain! Love these photos and your shoes are killer!

  6. Stacey says:

    I love everything about this post! The outfit (so classic), the umbrella (so happy and bright!), and of course the Gene Kelly pose 🙂

  7. Cortney A. says:

    I like your interpretation better. 🙂

    Love how the shoes match the umbrella! And I’m coveting that jacket– I’ve been looking for something similar for the past couple years.

    • Salazar says:

      Thanks! I just thrifted the jacket that very same day, and I love it so much I had to wear it right away without waiting to wash it first (a bit gross, I know :P)

  8. Cheery shoes! People should dress up with more colors like this when it’s rainy and gloomy outside!

    LeeAnne, Style N Season
    http://stylenseason.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

