Beauty And The Beast

I just wore this belt for the next Bloggers Do It Better challenge, “Animal Instincts“, since it’s the only thing with animal prints I have… I’m not brave enough for anything else. At first I thought it was too incongruous with the floral dress (hence the cheesy post title), but in the photos it’s not that bad, right? Just like another version of stripes + floral pattern mixing.

Turns out, the true incongruous piece is the scarf. But I need it – the weather finally feels like fall, hooray! – and my other lightweight scarf, the polka dot one, doesn’t go with this outfit either. Function over fashion.

Dress and cardigan: Forever21
Belt: thrifted via Buffalo Exchange
Scarf: Icing
Tights: Kohl’s
Boots: Bamboo thrifted, remixed

8 Comments on “Beauty And The Beast”

  1. Loren says:

    These photos are adorable.
    I am also a little scared to do the animal print thing. But I’m pretty sure I like your belt a whole lot. It does feel a little like ‘stripes + florals’ but in a good way.

  2. Your titles always keep me guessing about what the entry is going to be about! 😛 Zebra-print, eh? Is that the new animal print that comes after leopard?? =P I think the scarf goes with this outfit! Practicality first!

  3. I like the animal print belt – it looks great with floral. I never thought about that combo when trying to pattern mix. Beautiful shots, BTW.

  4. Cortney A. says:

    I skipped this BDIB challenge because I’m scared to death of animal print. I love how you made it work for you. 🙂 The floral dress & zebra belt look wonderful together.

    • Salazar says:

      I’m scared of animal print too! I feel it makes me look… old, for some reason. Maybe because I associate animal print with fur, and fur with old ladies 😛 I’m actually thinking about getting a pair of leopard print tights to see if I could make that work.

  5. […] “almost”: I thought about wearing this collar with the floral dress I wore on Tuesday, but when I pinned it on, that print combined with the crocheted lace just looked too… Little […]

  6. meagan says:

    Your photos are so pretty. I really love the print on that dress!
    -Meagan
    http://www.spunkychateau.com

  7. Aquí says:

    love what you did with the challenge by only adding a hint of animal print! Really like the color of your tights!


Leave a Reply

