The Pensieve

Back in April, Ana of Better in Sepia wrote that she found her blog the target of some malicious comments on a website whose sole purpose is to make fun of style bloggers. Yesterday I happened to come across that website, or one very similar to it. Though it hardly came as a surprise to me (people will always find ways to make themselves feel better than others), I still marvel at how those people can find the time to do so.

However, they do put things in perspective for me. A big part of their reason for hating style bloggers is that they think all style bloggers are obsessed with consumerism, shallow, and vain (of course, they don’t realize that their bashing is just as self-centered.) But – and I’m not trying to make excuses for that website or its readers here – I can kindasorta see where they got that impression from. The only thing I can do is to make sure that I don’t come across that way on my blog.

I don’t deny that there was a bit of egotism in my reason to start the blog, and I do want to promote it (if I didn’t I would’ve made it private), but in the end – for me at least – it’s just another hobby, a way to express myself as myself and not as a character in my scripts. And when the blog became less of an outlet and more of a chore, I would simply take a break.

Sorry if it’s a bit of a rant, but like I said, this blog is my own personal Pensieve. Only I have to type instead of pointing a wand at my temple and pull out my thoughts (that would’ve been time-saving though!)

Shirt: New York & Co., thrifted
Cardigan: Bloomingdales thrifted, remixed
Jeans: Charlotte Russe, remixed
Loafers: Payless thrifted, remixed
Necklace: self-made

6 Comments on “The Pensieve”

  1. Cortney A. says:

    I’m with you on that. šŸ™‚ I love being about to look back a couple months and see both my style evolution and my day-to-day life. Also, it’s a very creative endeavor for me — trying to step out of my once tiny style box and try new things while still dressing in a way that’s “me”.

    I love the way your shirt & cardigan play off each other. šŸ™‚ The contrast between the two makes the both of them really stand out, and I love the color combo.

  2. Loren says:

    I don’t get why people would want to spread such crazy negativity. I know it’s the internet and that is what it is known for. But part of what I love about ‘style bloggers’ is the support and friendliness I feel from them. I don’t see the point to just spouting off negative comments all the time. I see stuff I don’t like on the internet every day. Instead of making a hate-site for it I just click the X button on my browser.

    Also, your loafers are adorable.

  3. Kate says:

    I love how wearable, lovely and flattering all of your looks are. This one is “fresh fall” with the cognac and red vs. sky blue. And keep speaking your mind, posting outfits and block out the bad. This blog world is as fun and positive as you make it! Thanks for putting your thoughts out there.

  4. Ali says:

    I completely agree. My blog is partly so loved ones who are far away can know how our life is, partly a way to write and take pictures, and partly a hobby that can help bring me new friends. (Like you!) But mostly it is a record for myself – so I can remember these moments. I have a terrible memory, and I’m hoping that having it all written down will help, especially with these times with Jesse.

  5. Just keep on doing what you’re doing! šŸ™‚ There are more people who are supporters than not, so that is comforting to know!


Leave a Reply

