Compromising

For a while now I’ve been looking for a polka dot piece (dress, skirt, blouse, doesn’t matter) with a more defined print. So when I saw this skirt at Goodwill with the half-off price tag, I snatched it up immediately, even though the fit around my waist is kinda tight (I figure as long as I don’t eat too much during the day, I’ll be fine :P)

But after I washed it, there is one more problem: it smells. It’s like a weird mix between clothes left in the washing machine for too long and burned rubber. What I don’t understand is, why it smells coming out of the wash. The fabric is polyester, which I don’t usually wear, so I have no idea. The smell did fade once it dried (with the help of my lavender bag), so I hope that it won’t be so bad after I’ve worn it for some time.

So yeah, I can’t breath in this skirt and it smells funny, but hey, at least it’s pretty, right? And it only cost $2.50.

Shirt: Target, remixed
Skirt: thrifted
Flats: Payless, remixed
Belt: thrifted
Brooch: vintage via Collectible Glitz

P/S: It seems that last photo was subconsciously inspired by the cover of Kira-Kira (which I’ve never read, but I always see at the bookstore.)

6 Comments on “Compromising”

  1. Loren says:

    This skirt is really cute (who needs to eat right?)
    Love the photos in this post to.
    I’ve never had a problem with smelly polyester though. I’ve got loads of thrifted poly things so maybe I am just used to the stench πŸ˜‰
    Sometimes BO can hang onto a garment forever though…

  2. Ali says:

    Pretty brooch! I’ve got a cameo from my grandma that I’m still trying to figure out how to wear. This is a good idea!

  3. Cara says:

    I love this outfit! It’s too bad it’s not more practical for, you know, sitting!

  4. Cortney A. says:

    Oooooh I love that skirt! Gorgeous! πŸ™‚ I have a dress that fits very similar to your skirt–it’s definitely not an item that makes breathing easy. But it’s so gorgeous that I wear it anyway. πŸ™‚

  5. Yeah, I hear ya on the compromising stuff! Sometimes, I do have to pass up something really cute because it’s too small! It feels more disappointing than passing something up that is too big though. As for the smell, I know EXACTLY what smell you are referring to!!! I think mine may have been silk items though. There was a dress I thrifted that smelled soooo bad after I washed it…(it honestly smelled like urine to me AFTER the wash – before there was no smell) and I had it dry-cleaned too for extra measure!

    • Salazar says:

      Ah, it’s good to know that I’m not the only one with the smell problem. I’m too cheap to pay for dry clean though πŸ˜› So I’m just going to hang this skirt up with a lavender bag until the smell fades.


Leave a Reply

