“Is It Safe?”

Last week, I went to the dentist for the first time in about 10 years. I had some horrible visits when I was little and that gave me this mortal fear of dentists, so I’ve just been routinely ignoring my toothaches all this time. But when this last toothache made me curl up in a ball at night, I knew I had to go or die. The diagnosis? Suffice to say, I have more cavities than teeth.

OK, maybe I’m exaggerating a bit. I do have a lot of cavities though. And I need at least one root canal (which the dentist has started, and I’m going back today to have it finished.) The good news is, it’s not as bad as I remembered. And I don’t mind, as long as I won’t end up like my grandma, who had to wear denture by the time she was in her thirties (!!!)

Oh and, something about the outfit. It’s for tomorrow’s Everybody Everywear challenge – Colored Pants. It’s partly inspired by this pin (I didn’t wear a blazer because it’s too warm and too formal.)

Shirt: thrifted, remixed
Jeans: Wet Seal thrifted, remixed
Flats: thrifted, remixed
Belt: from home
Necklace: self-made
Post title: quote from Marathon Man (probably not a good idea to think of this movie when you’re sitting in the dentist’s chair…)

Colored Pants | Everybody, Everywear

13 Comments on ““Is It Safe?””

  1. Ali says:

    Ecch. I hear you on the dentist. I think it had been about 10 years since the last time I went, but last year I got 3 root canals and all my wisdom teeth out. I’ll be going for my yearly check-ups from now on! I do really like my new dentist, though – He has TVs above the chairs, so I could watch Food Network while he drilled!

  2. Faith says:

    I love the pants! I wish I had the guts to wear some like that! I’m going with some lame jeans for EBEW. 😦

    I’m so with you on the dentist. I finally made an appointment after about 2 years of avoidance…I go the end of the month!

  3. Aquí says:

    I hate the dentist too! Its those awful childhood memories flooding back! I wore braces for 3 years!!! I LOVE the colored pants! Especially with the chambray shirt.

  4. Loren says:

    I spent 4 years going to the dentist every month when I had braces. But I’m not sure I’ve been to one since I got them off… in high school… you’ve filled me with dread of returning…
    Love the pants though, the color is great. They look really cute on you 🙂

  5. Cortney A. says:

    Love those pants! 🙂

    I don’t mind the dentist, probably because I don’t get very many cavities. It’s doctors that scare me! I absolutely despise needles.

  6. Yay colored pants! 😀 Love that color!

    I have nightmares about my teeth, so I can understand the fear. I go twice a year to get cleanings and it still scares me what they will find! Plus, I’m pretty sure I grind my teeth and I’m afraid they’re gonna turn into little nubs in the future. 😦 Now that you have a clean bill-of-heath on your teeth, it won’t be as scary to go, hopefully! 🙂

  7. Oh no! That sounds awful! My brother (who is 21) was suppose to have a root canal last year, but instead just got the tooth pulled (typical boy, right?). I hear they are no fun. I hate to sound like a broken record, but brushing 2x a day + flossing at least once a day + fluoride mouthwash will keep the dentist away! I used to get so many cavities when I was younger but once I started this routine, I just need to get them cleaned once a year 🙂 HTH

    PS love your EBEW submission! Very classic 🙂

  8. Tiffany says:

    I love seeing your style evolve… this look is so fierce! I adore the colors you paired and that necklace is beyond bad-ass.

  9. simple and cute look! love the necklace too!! Although I would really love to put a Coco Chanel tie on with this outfit.

    Daisy Dayz Home
    Cross-Jones-Photography Home
    The Daily Swoon
    The Penthouse Clan

  10. simply chic says:

    classic and preppy…right up my alley 🙂

  11. Terri says:

    Sorry to hear about the tooth problems…but dentistry has come a long way in recent years. May your work prove to be less painful than the ache you’ve been living with. Your outfit is lovely.

  12. Linda says:

    Great combo.
    I’m glad the dentist was not as terrible as you expected.

    Thanks for joining us at EBEW!

  13. Great outfit! I love that the necklace looks like a tie from far away, but offsets the masculine silhouette with a feminine touch. Those jeans look terrific on you, too.


Leave a Reply

