Happy Independence Day, Vietnam!

I thought about wearing red and yellow (our flag colors) to celebrate Vietnam’s Independence Day, but then decided not to because 1) our flag colors aren’t really as iconic as red, white and blue; 2) all of my red shirts are in the laundry; and 3) I wanted to remix this pencil skirt.

As a final attempt to dress down this skirt, I picked the most casual graphic T-shirt I have (the only ones more casual are the ones I wear to bed.) The hat, worn for today’s prompt, “Adorn Your Head“, also helped. In the end, it’s been an interesting experiment dressing down this pencil skirt, but I’ve come to the conclusion that a gray pencil skirt looks best in its natural environment: the office.

T-shirt: Zara, gift from my cousin when I visited my aunt and uncle in Poland
Skirt: Gap thrifted, remixed
Hat: Forever21
Wedges: thrifted via Buffalo Exchange, DIY
Belt: Wet Seal

6 Comments on “Happy Independence Day, Vietnam!”

  1. Amy says:

    I love hats, love them! I think your grey skirt is adorable with a t-shirt!

    Oh, and happy independence day of course!

  2. Sarah in Indiana says:

    1. Great belt
    2. Way to rock a hat
    3. Nice job dressing down the pencil skirt
    4. Vietnam probably wouldn’t be the first thought of most Americans when seeing a red and yellow outfit, but I’d say its pretty hard for any country to own a color combo outside of its borders.

  3. Cortney A. says:

    Love that hat. 🙂 I think you did a great job in dressing down your pencil skirt. I’m definitely going to have to take a cue from you when I start attempting to wear mine so casually.

  4. Penny says:

    amazing hat and the last picture is so beautiful!

  5. Kate says:

    I looove the cool/casual look! Super cute.

  6. Loren says:

    Love this shirt! So cute on you. Pencil skirts are really hard to dress down but I think this look is great.


Leave a Reply

