Fix You

I’ve been wanting to learn how to sew for some time, so today’s prompt, “Repair and Wear“, was the perfect opportunity. I spent an afternoon with my friend Debbi; she taught me the basics of using a sewing machine; and I altered two pairs of pants. I still haven’t really got the hang of pedaling, and I can’t sew a straight seam to save my life, but it was a start!

These jeans are hand-me-down from my brother-in-law (my sister fattened him up so much after the wedding that they don’t fit him anymore :P) I still want to chop off about an inch or so from the hem, but that’s an intermediate class, and I’m just a beginner right now. Maybe another day.

Jeans: hand-me-down, altered by me
Shirt: Forever21, remixed (hey, yesterday I wore plaid with jeans too!)
Belt: thrifted
Wedges: Old Navy thrifted, remixed
Post title: song by Coldplay (lame title, I know, I couldn’t think of anything.)

P/S: In other, exciting news, I actually won a giveaway! I’ve been entering giveaways since forever and never won anything, so I was super stoked to find out that I won $25 from Maggie’s Farm Vintage, courtesy of Lulu Letty. Now the question is, what should I get? I’m partial to this skirt, but these two dresses are adorable too (and I don’t mind paying the difference.) Do you guys have any suggestion?

9 Comments on “Fix You”

  1. Whoa, nice job on the jeans!!! Re: what to get, the blue dress gets my vote (but only b/c you have a red skirt already, and while maroon is different from red, I think you may be able to do more with the blue dress in terms of styling).

  2. Amy says:

    Impressive. As soon as you get the hang of sewing, straight line or not, you’ll be hooked!

  3. Loren says:

    These pants look great! You did a great job! I’ve been sewing for years and I still can’t really sew a straight line.
    Love the pieces you picked out at Maggie’s Farm. I’m also a big fan of this red skirt.
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/80289940/wrapped-up-in-books-skirt
    But i feel like maybe I saw something like that in your closet.

    Also teehee Coldplay.

  4. Whitney says:

    Great job on the jeans! I’m still too scared to make some of my pants “skinnier”…keep up the practicing and you’ll be a refashionista pro!

  5. Misty says:

    Wow! I’m impressed! Those jeans look like they were bought that way! πŸ™‚

  6. Cortney A. says:

    Great job on the jeans! πŸ™‚ They look amazing! I actually need to hem a couple pairs of mine, but I’m scared to mess with them. πŸ™‚

    As for the giveaway–I love the dresses you’re considering! The skirt is definitely a cute choice too, but I’d totally go for the dresses.

  7. shopfreak says:

    Good job on the jeans! I wish I had enough patience for sewing. I can’t stand having to rethread and rebobbin all the time. If not for those two things, I’d want to sew more.

    For the giveaway, I’m going to go with the skirt, more remixing possiblities! Congrats by the way! Maybe you’re on a lucky streak so keep entering giveaways or buy some lottery tickets, you never know!

  8. Woah, so much progress on your first sewing experience!!! πŸ˜€ It looks much better! I would imagine the hemming would be easier than what you did to the rest of the pants!

    Great choice on the polka dress!! SUPER cute! Looking forward to its debut!!

  9. Rebekah says:

    Awesome. I love your belt!


Leave a Reply

