Street Urchin

Today’s prompt is “Menswear.” Again, that sounded easy at first, but I knew it required a bit more thought, or I could be mistaken for a man (yes, it happened. A lady at the grocery store called me “Sir”, then I turned around and she was like, “Oh excuse me. You’re a girl.” I think that might be the moment I decided to start changing my style :P)

I brought a little femininity (not too much) into the outfit with these lace-trimmed shorts I got from my sister. So the overall outfit is still very tomboyish, but not too mannish.

And, because the suspenders and the plaid shirt (and the sneakers too) make me feel like a street urchin, I couldn’t help but do some kiddie things in the photos:


The shopping cart’s handle matches my suspenders!

Shirt: tailored from home, remixed
Shorts: hand-me-down from my sister (she chopped and trimmed them herself)
Sneakers: Converse, remixed
Suspenders: thrifted

6 Comments on “Street Urchin”

  1. Cortney A. says:

    I love the plaid and suspenders! πŸ™‚ I also love the little detail of lace on the shorts, definitely a great touch. πŸ™‚

  2. Love the suspenders! You have a great collection (I’m thinking of your pink ones, too ;D)!

  3. Loren says:

    Too cute! Love your yellow suspenders!

  4. Amy says:

    You are too cute, I’m loving this!

  5. So creative with the menswear! I had to look up what a “street urchin” was though! Where’d you manage to find a random shopping cart though? =P

    • Salazar says:

      I was going to title the post “Gavroche” (from Les Miserables, because that’s who I think of when I think “street urchin”), but I thought it might be a little obscure. And the shopping cart? It was just hanging out there πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

