Elaine Of Green Gables

I admit: today’s prompt, “New Hairdo“, completely throws me off. I don’t like messing with my hair, and my hair doesn’t like to be messed with. As long as it stays out of the back of my neck, I leave it alone. So I tried this pretzel braid, but my hair refused to stick to the bobby pins and the braids wouldn’t stay up. In the end, as I was re-watching Anne of Green Gables, I got the idea to just tie the braids together with a ribbon. I don’t have the patience for anything else.

I also feel a bit like Elaine in this outfit – loose blouse, pencil skirt, flats, braided hair. The only thing I’m missing is some great accessory. I’ve been remiss of accessorizing lately. It’s just too hot to have things rubbing against my neck or wrists.

Blouse: tailored from home, remixed
Skirt: Gap thrifted, remixed
Flats: Payless, remixed
Belt: thrifted

9 Comments on “Elaine Of Green Gables”

  1. Cute hairstyle! I loved the Anne of Green Gables series…I need to re-read the books.

  2. Kayla says:

    Oh I like it! That pretzel braid doesn’t work for me either but this is pretty!

  3. Loren says:

    Love the hair! I agree it is still to hot for chunky necklaces. I really like your grey skirt too.
    (More like Elaine of Grey Gables, lol) Sorry that wasn’t really funny.

  4. Chris says:

    Love the braids and the ribbon! Your whole outfit is very cute and comfy looking. I like everything you did here.

  5. Aquí says:

    Your hair looks adorable and even though you think your hair is fussy, maybe it just needs to get used to you messing with it! Love the title of the post, I just love Anne of Green Gables!

  6. Penny says:

    oo yes I know what you mean!I tried another one of Jo’s tutorial ( they all look so so gorgeous) and I just could not keep it up!
    But i was really satisfied with the chestnut bun 😉
    ps. and I like the idea with the ribbon!

  7. I like your hair! I’m dying for the day when my hair is finally long enough to braid. Now I want to go back and reread Anne of Green Gables!

  8. Cortney A. says:

    I love what you did with your hair! When mine gets longer I’ll have to try that. 🙂 Also I am jealous of your belts. 🙂 How do you find such great items thrifting? I wish I had better luck…

  9. Great job with the new hairstyle! It’s super cute! Now I’m wondering if I’ve ever seen you with your hair down! =P


Leave a Reply

