Mom Jeans

Today’s 21 Day Challenge prompt is “Jazz up Your Jeans.” My outfit is loosely inspired by this look from Anthropologie (loosely, because my jeans are more teal than green.) It’s not very jazzed-up – but when I tried adding a blazer or a light scarf, it was like, “Argh! I’m boiling!”  – so here’s what you got.

I thrifted these jeans along with the orange pair (apparently I was on a colored jeans kick.) I like the color, but the fit is… a little weird (the thrift store doesn’t have a fitting room.) Have you ever seen the Saturday Night Live commercial “Mom Jeans“? I feel like I need to stuff my hips like that to fit these, otherwise I would have this strange fabric bunching around the, uh, zipper area. Or maybe I just need to wear a longer shirt to cover it up. What do you guys think?

T-shirt: Forever21, remixed
Jeans: thrifted
Wedges: Mudd, via Kohl’s, remixed
Necklace: self-made

8 Comments on “Mom Jeans”

  1. Hannah says:

    I think they look just fine! Maybe it is because your hands are in your pockets though. I do hate when pants do that “mom jeans” thing. I find that sometimes a belt helps!

  2. Loren says:

    I can’t believe your thrift store doesn’t have a dressing room! And I can’t believe you were brave enough to buy these pants without trying them on first!
    I don’t see any awkwardness in these photos, they LOOK like they fit you really well. Maybe they are secretly boy jeans… I’ve got a couple pairs of those and they always do… awkward things when I wear them.

    • Salazar says:

      Maybe you’re right! It definitely feels like I could fit, um, something else down there 😀 But these have a decidedly feminine cut and color, right?

  3. I don’t see any hint of “mom jean”ing here. They look like they fit really well. In fact, they look like the exact fit of colored jeans that I have been looking for for months! Jealous!

  4. Waaah?? These don’t look like “mom-jeans” at all!! They’re very on-trend, and for having not been able to try them on prior to your purchase, it turned out well! 😀

  5. Amy says:

    Um, will you make me a necklace? That’a amazing, I LOVE it! Love your look today.

  6. Aquí says:

    I love this look! The colors are so rich and the whole outfit is very figure flattering, even if the fit does feel a bit weird!


Leave a Reply

