Little Orphan Zara

Today’s 21 Day Challenge is “Save a Closet Orphan.” I bought this dress from Zara for graduation back in February (one of the rare times I paid full price), and haven’t worn it again since. Probably because I associate it with a formal occasion, so I feel overdressed in it. Plus it’s sleeveless, and I don’t feel like showing off my awesome farmer’s tan while it’s still too hot for a cardigan. But I like the dress (pockets!), so I’d wear it more often. Just not in the summer.

I made the mistake of walking too close to the railing of this bridge, looking down at the traffic below… and my fear of heights kicked in (my palms sweat even as I’m typing this.) So yeah, I was holding on for dear life in that photo there.

Dress: Zara (the sash comes with it)
Shoes: Steven by Steve Madden thrifted, remixed
Necklace: self-made

20 Comments on “Little Orphan Zara”

  1. This is such a great look on you–the pops of red are a nice touch. Re: farmer’s tan, I have the same issue but with my legs!

  2. Mel says:

    I LOVE that dress and I definitely think you could make it more casual with a more structured belt and pair of boots. Or even with a bright colored cardi and flats.

    http://www.melsmanyhats.blogspot.com

  3. that is a great dress. i really like your necklace – the red pops against the black & white of the dress.
    e&h adventure book

  4. Chris says:

    You look lovely! I really like the dress with the pops of red at your neck and feet. Beautiful!

  5. Kayla says:

    This might be my favorite outfit of yours so far. Very flattering.

    Kayla
    Freckles in April

  6. Amy says:

    I love your necklace with that dress, it’s the perfect touch!

  7. Loren says:

    This dress is lovely on you!
    Also the cure for farmers tan is to wear more short sleeved dresses πŸ˜‰

  8. Kate says:

    WEAR THAT DRESS MORE OFTEN! It fits you beautifully and would be so easy to just throw on. I agree with Mel above- boots!

  9. Cortney A. says:

    That dress is gorgeous! πŸ™‚ You should definitely wear it more often! πŸ™‚ I love that you accessorized with the red shoes and red necklace.

  10. Cara says:

    This is such a pulled together, simple and sophisticated look! I love it! If you want to make it a bit more casual, you can always try boots (as mentioned above), flats, or a denim jacket over top.

  11. I really like the print on that dress! I think you could dress it up or down! I feel you on that fear of heights thing, yikes!

  12. Whitney says:

    I really like this dress and I love how you paired it with the red accessories!

  13. This dress is gorgeous! Is the print writing, or just pretty squiggles? Either way, you look great.

  14. Maddie says:

    Beautiful dress and it fits you so well.

  15. Oooh, formal!! But, nice, and definitely very versatile for the colder months! I soooo have a fear of heights too! I get dizzy climbing a ladder and looking up. =P

  16. becky says:

    Love black and red combo. A

  17. Penny says:

    this dress suits you so so well!please wear it more often so it will no longer be a closet orphan πŸ˜‰
    I especially like the first picture!

  18. shopfreak says:

    Thought I already left you a comment on this one..I love this dress!

  19. I love this dress! Especially with that pop of red from your necklace. Soooo pretty! Please save this dress from closet orphanism!

  20. […] “Little Orphan Zara.” I have to thank the 21 Day Challenge for making me rescue this closet orphan. I’ll wear it more in the colder months for sure! […]


Leave a Reply

