Upstairs, Downstairs

Today’s 21 Day Challenge prompt is “Mix Fancy and Casual.” I was stumped at first, because almost everything in my closet is either casual or business-casual. But after looking through Kayla’s inspiration post, I remembered that I do have an item that maybe can pass the fancy test – my pleated skirt. Not that its price has anything to do with it (I thrifted it with the tag still attached, it was originally priced at $475 – preposterous! – and marked down to $49.99 – still preposterous.)

So it seems that my “upstairs” element – the fancy skirt – is actually downstairs, and my “downstairs” element – the casual chambray shirt – is upstairs. Confused yet? ๐Ÿ˜›

Huh. I kinda looked like my sister in that photo there. A lot of people say my sister and I look alike, but we never see it, so it’s weird seeing it… now.

Shirt: thrifted
Skirt: Helmut Lang thrifted, remixed
Flats: Payless, remixed
Belt: thrifted
Necklace: vintage

"/

8 Comments on “Upstairs, Downstairs”

  1. LOVE the twirl! The pleated skirt is definitely fancy. Good find!

  2. Oh pleated skirts! I really do need to get my hands on one of those. You put together such a sweet look ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the skirt with the chambray top ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Loren says:

    This skirt is a lot of fun! It looks really cute with the Chambray. I’ve yet to convert to the chambray fan club but I love how versatile they seem to be. Love the twirl ๐Ÿ™‚
    I have the same experience with my sister. I never think we look alike until I see photos of us doing the same thing.

  4. that is a great skirt and a thrifting gold mine! i really like how polished your outfit is.

    e&h adventure book

  5. Cortney A. says:

    Ooh I love the pleated skirt! Actually, I love pleats in general–but that skirt is adorable. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love that you paired it with chambray.

  6. Tiffany says:

    I love that pleated skirt! And your twirly picture is so cute!

  7. Fancy pleated skirt indeed! It looks expensive too! Cute twirling picture! Looks fun!

  8. Aquรญ says:

    such a cute post! I love the last bit! That skirt is perfect! I love the neutral pleats!


Leave a Reply

