Ever Let The Fancy Roam

For today’s 21 Day Challenge prompt of “Get Creative“, I’d wanted to try the “shirt as skirt” thing, especially after seeing Stacey of Gray Skies doing it so effortlessly, and looking great in it. But unfortunately I don’t have any shirt big enough (silly me for giving away my baggy button-ups!) Also I know I’m going to be running around all day and I was afraid if I wore a shirt as a skirt it might fall down at some point… which would be bad.

I decided to go with a less risky idea instead: skinny belt as bracelet/cuff (inspired by this pin.) I only have a black skinny belt, so this ended up looking a bit too goth, but I like it. Besides, there’s nothing wrong with goths, as Richmond Felicity Avenal has taught us 😛 (it still cracks me up that his middle name is Felicity…)

T-shirt, Scarf & Cardigan (thrifted): Target, remixed
Jeans: H&M, remixed
Sneakers: Converse, remixed
Belt as bracelet: Forever21
Post title: From John Keats’ Fancy (ironic, since there’s nothing fancy about my outfit at all! I just like it because it says “let your imagination roam”, basically.)


I should probably give my Converse a good scrub…

7 Comments on “Ever Let The Fancy Roam”

  1. becky says:

    That is such a fun idea. Love it.

  2. Cortney A. says:

    I love the idea of a skinny belt as a bracelet! I’ll definitely have to try it out! Also, I’m coveting your cardigan again… 😛

  3. Ali says:

    I love this idea! I never would have thought to use a belt as a bracelet.

    I’m not sure any self-respect goth would wear that shade of yellow. 🙂

  4. I always love posts with sneakers–great idea re: using a belt to make a bracelet.

    Re: Dominion, yes, it’s like Magic! I’ve never played Magic before, but I have on good authority that the games are similar. Settlers is a board game, so it’s a bit different. The only similarity between Settlers and Dominion is that both are pretty difficult to learn. Once you know how to play, though, it’s a lot of fun!

  5. Loren says:

    Super cute. Great simple accessory for this outfit 🙂

  6. Stacey says:

    I love the belt as a bracelet! I’ll have to try this.

    You definitely need a men’s button-up to try that shirt as skirt thing – none of my regular women-sized button-ups were long enough!

  7. Kayla says:

    I almost did this one too! My belt was just not quiiite skinny enough. This looks really cool though! A smidge edgy.


Leave a Reply

