Tuck Everlasting

First off, sorry for the corny title. I couldn’t help myself, when today’s 21 Day Challenge prompt is “Tuck It In.”

Confession: I hate wearing shirts tucked in. Maybe it came from my time in grade school, because in Vietnam, school kids all have to wear uniform (white button-up shirt with a school patch + navy slacks; I guess girls can wear skirts if they want, but nobody does. You want to be able to run around, you know?) and you can get reprimanded for not tucking in your shirts. So even though I do tuck my shirts in now (especially when I’m wearing a skirt), I still don’t like it.

So it’s ironic that on my day-off, I’m wearing my shirt tucked in. Ah, the things we do for a fashion challenge.


This is a cool mural near my apartment (it’s a framing business.) I thought it was a good match for my botanical print shirt

T-shirt: old, DIY (inspired by this tutorial)
Skirt: Calvin Klein, thrifted
Sandals: Payless, remixed
Belt: thrifted

7 Comments on “Tuck Everlasting”

  1. Cortney A. says:

    I hate to tuck my shirts in too. I generally find it unflattering (unless I’m wearing a high waisted skirt).

    Your skirt is gorgeous and I want that botanical top! I also love that you managed to gracefully combine black & navy in an outfit!

  2. Loren says:

    Love this location! Goes to well with the outfit as well 🙂
    I’m a long time-tucker at least when I want to look ‘nice’ it’s definitely something my mother ingrained into my head as a child.
    I do not like tucking t-shirts though. (Make me feel like a nerd.)

  3. Such a cool wall – I also like that your shirt echoes the mural.

  4. Cara says:

    I love that you do the same thing I do when I tuck: belt! Some reason belting just makes it seem less little-kid-like

  5. Oooh, that painted wall goes so well with your shirt. 😀 I would’ve never guessed that you hated tucking in your shirt! You do it so well!

  6. Jamie says:

    That wall mural is gorgeous and so is that skirt! Way to go!

  7. I also love the mural wall, and the line, “the things we do for a fashion challenge.”


Leave a Reply

