Bathe In The Light Of Day

So this is my first entry for the 21 Day Challenge (Pick an item to remix 3 times over the next 3 weeks.) I chose this pencil skirt because a) I’ve only worn it twice since I got it, and b) it’s such a basic piece that I find it hard to style, especially how to dress it down.

It’s also my first attempt at “take pictures first, blog later.” I took these photos yesterday afternoon, and yes, I did wear the same clothes today. I didn’t go very far, this is right across the street from my apartment, but the light shining through the crepe myrtles was so pretty I couldn’t pass it up. It’s going to be tough though, since the 21 Day Challenge is for the entire week, so I wonder how I’m going to do this on my days off, with two outfits to photograph… But I won’t bore you with the “behind-the-scene” logistics of running the blog. I’ll figure it out.

T-shirt & Belt: Forever21
Skirt: Gap thrifted, remixed
Flats: Nicole, thrifted
Pendant: a thrifted brooch
Post title: lyric from Snow Patrol’s Crack the Shutters

11 Comments on “Bathe In The Light Of Day”

  1. Kayla says:

    Pencil skirts are SO hard to dress down. Great pick! And such a pretty location. You were right about the lighting right there!

  2. Cool pendant/brooch! I also have a difficult time dressing down pencil skirts. I’ve never really worn them in a non-professional setting b/c I prefer looser skirts while hanging out and about. Hmmm…maybe I’ll try dressing down my pencil skirts, too!

  3. Loren says:

    These photos are lovely. I think this skirt is the perfect remix item. Also I love the brooch you used as a necklace!

  4. Cortney A. says:

    I love your shoes–what a great color! Also, I have a strong fondness in my heart for stripes. šŸ™‚

    Good luck with your pencil skirt. It looks like it will be a fun piece to remix. It’s definitely an item I would have in my closet. šŸ™‚

  5. Grace says:

    Really like this outfit!

  6. Jamie says:

    Stripes, a belted top, a mid-length skirt and flats. Four of my favorite things! I’m excited to see what else you come up with during the challenge.

  7. Penny says:

    good luck Salazar!you actually got me to participate as well with your post (although I live in EU)- this new job I got has me stressed all over!hehe!
    ps) I like this skirt- hope you manage to enjoy it šŸ™‚

  8. Mel says:

    I love that necklace. I mean, the whole outfit is super-cute, but that necklace is killing me!

  9. Pretty lighting!! It’s ironic that such a basic piece could be difficult to style, eh? I know just what you mean! šŸ˜€ At least you’re challenging yourself to remix it!

  10. The lighting was beautiful in these photos! Pencil skirts are great basic pieces, can’t wait to see how you restyle it.

  11. […] it’s a tie between “Feel Like Summer” (for the sentiments behind it) and “Bathe In The Light Of Day” (for pretty […]


Leave a Reply

