Mixed Media Skirt: The Reveal

OK, here we go. Here is the result of that horrible DIY project I did yesterday.

It turned out not so bad, considering I had a huge purple stain to cover. At least it’s presentable now. I like the color because it makes the doily patterns look almost like a henna design. I think I will add some more patterns to the back so that it’s more balanced (and to camouflage some stains there as well. Yesterday I was too frustrated to do it :P)

Oh and I haven’t tried my proposed “take photos now, blog later” approach yet (maybe next week) but this morning I didn’t have to come into the office so early so at least I could try a different location.

Shirt: Target
Skirt: Gap thrifted, DIY
Shoes: Steve Madden, thrifted
Belt: thrifted

8 Comments on “Mixed Media Skirt: The Reveal”

  1. Aquí says:

    It looks pretty good and I think it will look even better when you add extra design to the back! Its a great color and I really like the flowers!

  2. Loren says:

    I love the pattern the doily made it’s really sweet looking. With that many stains to cover I would’ve considered trying to dye the skirt but this approach is cute as well.

    • Salazar says:

      I didn’t even think about that! But with this dark color, there’s no way short of dying it black. And black skirts make me feel like my mom (no offense, Mom :P)

  3. Your skirt looks great! The design adds interest and I can’t even tell that there was a stain you were trying to cover.

  4. Caroline says:

    The skirt is so cute! It turned out REALLY well and the design is great.

  5. This looks great! I wouldn’t know there was a stain if you hadn’t told me. It just looks like it’s supposed to be that way. Very pretty!

  6. Hey, actually it looks pretty cute despite the accident! Very creative!

    LeeAnne, Style N Season
    http://stylenseason.blogspot.com

  7. I think this skirt looks lovely! Great touches to it! I totally see what you mean about the henna-looking designs!


Leave a Reply

