Birthday Suit

Today is my birthday. That’s right, I’m officially old enough to rent a car now (not that I would, I don’t know how to drive.) 25 years old… Man, when you say it like that… I don’t feel 25. At all. I still feel 15. See, this is what birthdays do to me. It makes me think about how we’re all kids once and how we’re all growing old (my family’s birthday card, which is a compilation of my baby photos, doesn’t help) and…

OK, before I sink too deep into my existentially nihilistic crisis, something about the outfit – it’s for the next Bloggers Do It Better challenge, “Arm Party”, or stacked bracelets. Since my arm is so busy I decided to keep the outfit simple. And I’m very proud of the fact that my bracelets are all self-made.

T-shirt: H&M, thrifted
Skirt: Helmut Lang (via Nordstrom), thrifted (it was originally $475, marked down to $49.99, and I got it for $5!!!)
Sandals: Easy Spirit thrifted, remixed
Necklace: Icing
Bracelets: self-made (tutorial for the wrap bracelet here)

7 Comments on “Birthday Suit”

  1. Cara says:

    Happy birthday! For my 25th birthday, I had the same crisis, so instead we had a 5th birthday party, with a My Little Pony cake, pin the tail on the donkey and plenty of balloons and streamers. We termed it the Five Squared (get it? 5 times 5 is 25). It made me feel less old.

    I love the look of the small knot on the shirt

  2. Loren says:

    Happy birthday! Mine was just last week, and OMG we are the same age!
    Love your coral top! And your ‘arm party’. It looks really cute!

  3. HAPPY [belated] BIRTHDAY! Amazing skirt find and it’s so great that your bracelets are all DIY. The pendant and the knot at your tee are lovely touches.

  4. Happy 25th Birthday! 😀 Yeah, it goes by pretty fast, doesn’t it? The great thing is that you don’t look 25, so maybe you look as young as you feel, and that ain’t bad! Great bracelets!!! I’ve been meaning to make that wrap bracelet!

  5. Cheryl says:

    Well happy birthday!!!!!!!!!! I love your arm party!!!!
    Thanks for visiting just fab!
    XO
    Cheryl

  6. Penny says:

    happy birthday! I had my birthday too in July and I had my own time of reflection so I confirm: time flies!On the other hand, some times it’s good that time flies like during a week when you can’t wait for the weekend 🙂
    I like the knotted shirt with the skirt!

  7. […] thrifted this ruffled shirt to use the fabric for crafting (some of it is made into my bracelet here), so I cut out the ruffles, made them into a huge ribbon flower (tutorial) and sewed it over the […]


Leave a Reply

