The Real Rubby Slippers

It’s Monday, it’s hot, I don’t have the energy to come up with some fancy schmancy post, so just do this as a list, shall we? Here are two things with this outfit that’s worth mentioning:

1) I’m wearing my skirt backwards. When I tried it on normally, the pockets looked funny in front… plus it has this weird fold that got in the way of my knees when I walked. So I turned it around. That’s the beautiful thing with skirts (some skirts, at least) – you can wear it backwards and nobody will know the difference.

2) I spray-painted my old brown flats (I forgot to a “before” picture. Thought I’ve worn them on the blog, but I was wrong) and turned them silver (hence the post title. In The Wizard of Oz the book, the “ruby” slippers are actually silver. In the movie they were changed so that they’d stand out against the Yellow Brick Road and Emerald City – that’s Color Theory 101 for you.)

It’s going to be 97F (37 C) tomorrow, and it’s my day off, so no air conditioning. Looks like I’m going to have to spend the day at the library…

T-shirt: Walmart
Skirt: H&M, thrifted
Flats: Target, DIY
Belt: thrifted
Necklace: from the gift shop at the Wieliczka Salt Mine (near Krakow, Poland)

6 Comments on “The Real Rubby Slippers”

  1. Elaine Hearn says:

    No way! That is too cute.

  2. I would not have known that you were wearing your skirt backwards had you not mentioned it. The DIY flats look great!

  3. Penny says:

    me too I would not have noticed that your skirt is backwards- I think it is perfect this way!
    I never thought about spraying my flats – what a clever idea!do they last long after they were sprayed?

    • Salazar says:

      I’ve only worn them once so I can’t say for sure how long they last, but I gave them several coats, so it should last for a while. And if the paint gets scuffed, you can always give it a touch-up!

  4. Loren says:

    The backwards skirt looks great! The little necklace you’ve got looks fantastic as well. Good luck staying cool!
    P.S. I loved the Wizard of Oz books growing up.

  5. Oooh, I have a skirt with a pleat like that in the front….I’m gonna see if I can turn it around too! =P This idea of spray painting shoes is intriguing! ^_^


Leave a Reply

