Flowers And Cowpats

In Vietnam we have a saying, “Like a branch of jasmine in a cowpat” (actually it’s “water buffalo pat”, but “cowpat” sounds better), which is to describe a mismatched couple – usually a guy who gets a girl way out of his league.

That has nothing to do with my outfit, of course. It’s just that I’m wearing these flower wedges which I’ve been lusting after ever since I saw them on Tania and got at Kohl’s for 70% off (no, ShopRuche. I’m not paying full price plus shipping for these), and my necklace looks sort of like… you got it.

I didn’t think about it at all while making the necklace. I just wanted to try my hands at making fabric rosettes. It was only until this morning, as I was walking out the door, that I realized, with the color and the shape, they look more like cowpats than rosettes.

Oh well. At least they’re pretty cowpats, right? 😀

Top: Forever21
Jeans: The Limited thrifted, remixed
Blazer: thrifted, remixed
Wedges: Mudd via Kohl’s
Bib necklace: self-made

5 Comments on “Flowers And Cowpats”

  1. LOL. That saying reminds me of a story that my Vietnamese teacher told me. My Vietnamese is horrible, but it went something like this:

    Anh ấy vừa ngèo vừa xấu mà được cưới vợ rất đẹp…

    and the punchline was:

    vì ảnh có tài riêng.

    [Hopefully I wrote that correctly and it translates to: “He was both poor and ugly but managed to marry a beautiful wife…because he had many special talents.” I’m not sure why it’s so funny, but I think it’s supposed to be a dirty joke…and I remember my parents laughed pretty hard at the time when my brother and I retold the line to them.]

    In any event, I like the rosettes/pretty cow patties. ;D It’s a great statement piece! Wedges are super cute and I like the blazer with your outfit, too.

    • Salazar says:

      Haha, yeah, I think that’s a dirty joke… though we tend to be a lot more direct with our dirty jokes 😛 (oh and it’s spelled “nghèo”, btw. Any word that has an “e” following a “ng” you need an “h” before the “e.” Don’t ask me why. Vietnamese is a confusing language.)

  2. Cara says:

    You know, if you wouldn’t have mentioned it, I would have never gone with cowpats to describe the necklace! Of course, once you said that, it was all I could see!

  3. Aquí says:

    these adorable rosettes do not look like cow pies 🙂 They are a gorgeous antique color! I love this! Please please do a diy! I would LOVE to make one!

  4. I agree with the other readers: I’d never think of cow pies when looking at your necklace! In fact, I was drawn to the photo of it because I thought the necklace was beautiful. Great job!

    Stephanie H.


Leave a Reply

