Bright Star

I was debating whether to do a review of Captain America or not (I went to see it last Saturday and quite enjoyed it), because even though it’s technically a period movie, it’s too much of an action/comic book/popcorn movie to fit in with what I want to put on the blog. But then I saw Bright Star playing on TV, and knew I’ve found the movie to write about.

Bright Star, written and directed by Jane Campion (who did The Piano) is about the romance between John Keats and his muse, Fanny Brawne. I saw the movie when it first came out, and loved it, despite finding the story a little wandering and the characters unfocused. However, after I watched an interview with Jane Campion, where she said the movie is a sort of love triangle between Fanny, Keats, and Charles Brown, Keats’ friend – not with Fanny in the middle but with Keats in the middle – the story does make more sense to me.

Look-wise, though, the movie is fantastic. Fanny Brawne was a seamstress, so of course the costumes are stunning (but you can still tell that she made her own clothes, which I love.) The cinematography and the design are also absolutely gorgeous. So, without further ado, here’s some screencaps, just to show you what it looks like (really, this whole post is an excuse for me to look at Bright Star screencaps :D)

This shot reminds me of a Caspar David Friedrich painting… only less depressing

Fanny and her sister’s dresses are made out of the same material. I love little touches like that

I want those shoes

Screencaps courtesy of Long Ago Capture.

If you still want to hear my thoughts on Captain America, let me know. Mind you, I only went to see it for Richard Armitage and JJ Feild (each of them has about 5 minutes of screen time… maybe even less than that), so my opinion is horribly tunnel-visioned.

2 Comments on “Bright Star”

  1. Hmmm…saw Captain America. It felt like it was made to be tied together with the Avengers. I’ve really enjoyed the comic book movies, but I think I was expecting too much with Captain America. He’s a bit of a doobie (do gooder with no edge).

    • Salazar says:

      Yeah, the whole movie was a build-up toward that last bit after the credits of The Avengers. And I agree with you about Captain America himself. Chris Evans is cute and earnest, but the whole time I was like, “Bring Richard Armitage back!” (sadly, he swallowed the cyanide capsule, so not much you can do there) or “Give JJ Feild more lines!” And I think they wasted Hugo Weaving too.


Leave a Reply

