Wise Old Ravenclaw

This is the Ravenclaw outfit I’d planned for Harry Potter. It’s not exact, of course, it’s just inspired by Ravenclaw, with the gray and the blue. But that’s just in the movies. In the books Ravenclaw’s colors are blue and bronze.

As you can see, I’m still in HP mode. If I hadn’t planned on going to see Captain America I might go see Harry Potter again. But not this weekend. I’ve been waiting for Captain America just as long as HP (though for the entirely wrong reason. I don’t know that much about Captain America. I simply want to see the movie because it has two of my favorite British actors – JJ Feild and Richard Armitage – even though their roles are tiny.)

Dress worn as top: thrifted, remixed
Skirt: Banana Republic thrifted, remixed
Belt: thrifted via Buffalo Exchange
Shoes: Walmart thrifted, remixed
Brooch: thrifted

P/S: Speaking of Ravenclaw… it was a little weird seeing Kelly McDonald as Helena Ravenclaw. I’m so used to her being Margaret in Boardwalk Empire.

7 Comments on “Wise Old Ravenclaw”

  1. I am always loving your placement of brooches in your outfits! 😀 Plus, you’re always wearing stuff I could totally see myself stealing from your closet! ^_~

  2. Quest for Fashion Sense says:

    LOVE this outfit on you. You do vintage and whimsical so well (at least, that’s what I would call this look). I’m looking forward to Captain America, too! Haha, but mainly for the action. 😉

    • Salazar says:

      “Vintage and whimsical” – I never thought of that! I think I’m going to use that to describe my style from now on. Thanks!

      • I was just about to leave you a link to a blog that you might enjoy (b/c you also are interested in GoT) and just saw your reply comment. Hahah, yeah, I think it’s a lot easier for me to describe others’ styles than it is my own. I’m sure that’s pretty common, though. ;D

        In any event, the blog I was going to tell you about: http://innatthecrossroads.com/ It’s a blog dedicated to the food in GoT (they don’t provide any spoilers, but they do quote passages involving food).

  3. Loren says:

    So cute! I love your brooch.
    Ravenclaw was always my favorite house. There’s pretty much no doubt in my mind that’s where I would have been ‘sorted’. 🙂

  4. Aquí says:

    i love your use of the brooch! I don’t think I could pull it off quite like you!

  5. Oh, this is very Ravenclaw! The ruffly shirt looks intellectual somehow. I’m not sure how, but it does. Facebook (and my own brain) told me that I’d be in Ravenclaw too.


Leave a Reply

