Blue And Pink

For somebody who doesn’t like to wear sleeveless, I sure do own a lot of sleeveless dresses (6 in total.) I guess my thought process when I bought them was “Eh, I can just throw on a cardigan, it’ll be fine.” What I didn’t think about was warm summer days like this, when a cardigan is quite out of the question and I need to utilize this dress as a top. So I took the plunge and wore the dress anyway (I did bring a cardigan with me, but that was just for my air-conditioned office.)

I also took a risk in pairing this blue brooch with the pink dress – a color combination that screams “baby shower” – but I wanted something that stands out from the print, plus the colors are dark enough so they look more like the Flickr logo than a baby shower.

Interesting tidbit: while looking for something more inspiring than “blue and pink” to title my post, I discovered that, allegedly, pink was once considered a color for boys (because it was viewed as a pale red, hence a “stronger” color), and blue (a softer, and thus more “dainty”, color) for girls. I don’t know how correct that info is, but I think the whole gender-specific color thing is just a bunch of codswallop anyway.

Dress worn as top: thrifted, remixed
Skirt: Banana Republic thrifted, remixed
Shoes: Madden Girl thrifted, remixed
Belt: thrifted
Brooch: vintage via Collectible Glitz

4 Comments on “Blue And Pink”

  1. Hehehe. Not enough sleeveless dresses! =P Especially in this hot weather! I feel ya’ on the cardigans, which is why you always see me pairing my outfits with one.

    And, interesting bit about the blue and pink! =P

  2. I really like this whole outfit. The silhouette of the dress tucked into the full skirt is great! And it definitely doesn’t say “baby shower.” Lovely!

  3. Aquí says:

    love the high waisted skirt with the belt. You look very polished!

  4. penny says:

    I really have to start wearing some dresses as top as well!It offers so many more dressing options!
    and I like your shoes- they remind me of tango shoes 🙂


Leave a Reply

