Midnight In Paris

I think I should do movie reviews more often. It’s just that it’s been a while since I saw any new movie – the last movie I saw in the theater was Jane Eyre… No, wait, I saw Water for Elephant too, but that was such a snore-fest that I completely forgot about it. Robert Pattinson and Reese Witherspoon have zero chemistry. I think the problem is Robert Pattinson actually. The guy is a chemistry vacuum. The only person I’ve seen him has chemistry with is (no joke) Daniel Radcliffe in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.

But I digress. I’ve finally watched Midnight in Paris this last Sunday (I decided to go to the movies more to escape my sweltering apartment, and I picked Midnight In Paris because I didn’t want to sit through The Tree of Life. I appreciate Terrence Malick’s genius, that doesn’t mean I have to watch his movies outside of school.)

I quite enjoyed Midnight in Paris – it’s just the sort of magical realism that I like. All the literary reference are hilarious (I especially love Adrien Brody as Dalí), and of course the costumes are marvelous – both the modern-day ones and the 1920’s ones.

That being said, I felt a little disconnected to the characters and the story. The story sometimes feels heavy-handed and on-the-nose. Woody Allen tends to be like that, but with such an out-there premise, I think it could use a little subtlety. Also I think Owen Wilson isn’t neurotic enough to play Woody Allen – because let’s face it, that character is just a more charming version of Woody Allen. Or maybe I wasn’t big on that character because I’m not that big on Owen Wilson to begin with. I do like his writing though. I wish he and Wes Anderson would write more together.

Also, there’s a point in the movie where they have an Inception thing going on (a dream within a dream, a fantasy within a fantasy.) It’s a little bit weird.

So, overall I liked the movie. If it hadn’t been for the disconnection thing, I would’ve loved it.

Anyway, like I said, I’ll try to do this sort of thing more often. Maybe not just movies I’ve seen recently, but movies I’ve seen ages before and still love.

Oh and this is what I wore to see Midnight in Paris (I took a walk around my neighborhood after I got back, when it cooled down):

How gorgeous is the light? That’s what I was talking about in yesterday’s post!

Dress: thrifted via Rewind Recycled Fashion
Belt: thrifted
Sandals: Easy Spirit thrifted, remixed
Hat: Forever21

2 Comments on “Midnight In Paris”

  1. WOW…now I know exactly the type of light that you’re talking about. Very cute dress, too.

  2. Aquí says:

    I need to see this movie asap. I agree though, not to big on Owen Wilson. You are wearing the perfect outfit for a movie like this!


Leave a Reply

