Dress My Best: Last Day

For my last entry for Dress My Best, I decided to highlight my hair. Since I don’t have the time and skills to style it any differently, this is more of an “appreciation” than a “dressing up” of my hair. Basically my hair style boils down to “keep it out of my neck and face.” Not that you can do anything with my hair – it doesn’t curl, it refuses to stay pinned, mousse or gel doesn’t have much effect on it. But then again I don’t want any hair style that requires more than 30 seconds, so yeah, my hair is perfect for me 🙂

I also want to talk about my necklace. It’s filled with amber collected from Hiddensee, a lovely little car-free island off the northern coast of Germany, near where my sister lived (it’s so cute, my pictures don’t do it justice.) My sister, her husband and I went there for a day trip, and when we saw people combing the beach for amber, we did some picking too. It was so smelly digging through the seaweed, but we did get a palmful, and my brother-in-law even found a piece with a bug inside (which, of course, he keeps.)


Me and my sister

I always remember that trip to Germany as one of the best summer vacations I’ve ever had (even though it rained half the time.) Alas, now that my sister and her family have moved back home to Vietnam, I don’t know if I’d ever have the chance to go back…

Dress: thrifted
Blazer: thrifted, remixed
Loafers: Payless thrifted, remixed
Belt: thrifted
Necklace: self-made with amber collected from Hiddensee

3 Comments on “Dress My Best: Last Day”

  1. I can see the resemblance between you and your sister. What a great necklace (haha, of course your brother-in-law would keep the piece with the bug; I would have, too!).

  2. Aquí says:

    your hair looks so great braided! I always wished I had dark hair! Yours is so shiny! 🙂

  3. Bri says:

    I love the necklace! That’s such a great idea, and it’s great that it has a story behind it too!

    Bri


Leave a Reply

