Floral Wedges DIY

I’ve been looking for a pair of floral wedges since the beginning of this season, since seeing them on these fabulous ladies:

Tiffany of A Reason To Be Fabulous

Tania of What Would A Nerd Wear

The thing is, I’m not keen on open-toed shoes, and it’s incredibly hard to find close-toed wedges, not to mention close-toed floral wedges. However, last week I managed to find a pair of close-toed wedges at Buffalo Exchange (which led to my declaration of failure on my shopping ban… but no worries. I didn’t buy anything this week!)

I like the shape, but the canvas has a bit of wear to it (it looks like denim in the photo, but it’s actually a faded black), so I decided to give it a face lift thanks to this tutorial I found on What I Wore (I didn’t have any muslin for pattern, and I’m cheap, so I used tissue paper instead.)

I didn’t cover the body of the shoes because I like that espadrilles look. Also, I used my trusty all-purpose glue instead of hot glue, which actually works out better – the glue is water-soluble, so if I get tired of this print, I can just sponge the glue off, rip the old fabric out and put a new one on. Changeable wedges, how about that?

12 Comments on “Floral Wedges DIY”

  1. RoseLaMer says:

    These are fabulous! I’ve always loved espadrilles, and you’re right, it’s always so hard to find them in that perfect pattern or color. I’ve been inspired.

  2. Aquí says:

    Wow! I cannot believe how good these look!!! I love these! Honestly I think yours are cuter than the girls pictures above! You did a fantastic job!

  3. My ipod touch was not working when I first saw this post, so the pictures did not appear–in any event, I’m glad I checked back b/c your diy is A-MAY-zing (said Pineapple Express style if you could not tell ;D)!

  4. I would never have thought of using tissue paper but I LOVE how these turned out!! The trim really finishes it off too!
    Thanks for linking up to Think Pink Sundays! I’m sharing on my FB page!

  5. Staci K says:

    oooohh!!! I love these! I have a pair of white wedges from last season that aren’t as white as they used to be. They might be a good candidate for this!

  6. Bethany says:

    These are so cute! I’ve been wanting a pair of floral wedges myself and might have to think about another shoe makeover.

  7. […] Merona (Target), thrifted Belt: Forever21 Wedges: thrifted via Buffalo Exchange, DIY Flower pin: […]

  8. […] wanted to pair them with my floral wedges. However, I had a little accident going up the stairs, scraped up my knees (you can kind see it in […]

  9. […] Ayakkabıların dönüşümü çok şık olmuş. ayakkabı dönüşümü 1 ayakkabı dönüşümü 2 burada […]

  10. […] Burdastyle’s tutorial is similar, and provides tons of pictures to show how they transformed a pair of black patent leather espadrilles into a wildly patterned summer look that stands out instead of blending in. While you can’t go wrong with basic black, we like how they transformed the look from blending-in to daring! Try it out and pair it with a neutral outfit, or blend the print into an equally colourful summer enseble […]

  11. […] image via 14shadesofgrey.wordpress.com […]

  12. […] image via 14shadesofgrey.wordpress.com […]


Leave a Reply

