We Interrupt The Remix Program To Bring You This Confused Outfit

One of the things I’m still struggling with as I explore my new style is how to incorporate the old items into my new closet. Take this outfit, for example. I built this entire outfit around this pair of oxfords, because I have to be out late tonight (my night class is moved to today) and I know it’s going to be too chilly for flats, but too hot during the day for boots.

Then I grabbed these jeans because they go well with the oxfords. I grabbed this tunic because I haven’t worn it in a while. I grabbed the blazer because it matches my oxfords. I grabbed the belt and the brooch because I needed a spot of color in this sea of brown that I’ve put on (that sounds gross.) And then… and then… I don’t know what happened. This is an outfit I would totally wear three months ago and not think a second on it (with a cardigan, though, not blazer) but now… it just looks weird to me. I feel drab and fussy at the same time.

I guess my style is not mature enough for me to just grab random things and throw them on in the morning, because this is what you get: a weird mix of my old, tomboyish, haphazardly-dressed self, and my new, more girly sensibility. Oh well. You live and learn.

Or I can just blame it all on the schizophrenic nature of LA climate. How do you dress when it’s hot during the day and cold at night?

Tunic: H&M
Jeans: Target, remixed
Blazer: Ann Taylor Loft thrifted, remixed
Oxfords: Sidecca, remixed
Belt: thrifted
Brooch: vintage via Collectible Glitz

2 Comments on “We Interrupt The Remix Program To Bring You This Confused Outfit”

  1. Aquí says:

    The outfit isn’t bad. I think maybe you could skip the tunic and go for a bright shirt instead of the belt for that pop of color. I really love the oxfords and the way you’ve rolled your jeans. Love the blazer too! I have the same issue with hot and cold weather. It’s that way here, raining one moment and then hot as hell the next. My solution is to layer. Just as you have here.

  2. Jiksa says:

    Love this outfit. Love your blog. 🙂


Leave a Reply

